We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegetarian Options!”
Review of Burrito Famous

Burrito Famous
Ranked #245 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Options!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I ate here with a friend. We were actually headed to Moe's and decided to peak in. I am a vegetarian and was thrilled that they served tempeh, avocado, or plantains in lieu of meat for their veggie burrito options. Even though I am slightly selective eater, my burritos were always nice and big. The guacamole is very good as well although it is extra. One of the things that I like about this place is their assortment of sauces at the end of the burrito building station. The first time I went, I was very happy that there was no one behind me because there were like 15 (at least that's what it felt like) to choose from. On one visit, I asked the person building my burrito to change her gloves because she had dealt with meat while making the previous customer's burrito and she happily did, with a smile.

I went back a few more times before leaving the area and would return if I were in the area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3caballeras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little different”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This isn't your average burrito place. They have a bunch of "things you wouldn't normally put in a burrito" on the menu, along with a bunch of sauces so that you can deviate from the normal burrito selection. I kept it classic, and it was pretty good. It wasn't the best burrito I've ever had, but I'd take it over Chipotle or Moe's. Not bad, I'll try this out again (and probably get a little more adventurous with my order). Only complaint - server thought she was being funny when talking to other customers, but it came across as pretty rude to everyone else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Looking for a quick bite while driving. You never know what you are going to get when you try a non-chain restaurant like this. The place was busy so I took a chance - and I'm glad I did. I had the spicy chicken (buffalo??) burrito and it was terrific. Plenty of choices as add-ons. As good or better than the chains. We sat outside to enjoy our lunches. Not a lot of scenery but it was a nice day. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bankguy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raiford, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have driven by here many times and never stopped. Short on time and looking for something quick to eat before a movie we decided to stop. The only downfall is that inside dining space is limited. If it is a beautiful day there is outside dining. Besides that the everything was Amazing. The food tasted very fresh. The salsa was chunky, guacamole, was creamy, and the plantains were sweet. I had the Jimmy the Greek burrito and the size amd taste was something that I will return for. If you need some good food quick don't drive by....stop by.

Helpful?
Thank NeatPete75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The food is amazing. The prices are competitive. Fabulous friendly staff. And they have good wine. I am thoroughly impressed with burrito famous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbirdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burrito Famous also viewed

 

Been to Burrito Famous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing