We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go if you're hungry!”
Review of Chomps Sports Grill - CLOSED

Chomps Sports Grill
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
853 reviews
664 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“The place to go if you're hungry!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stopped in for dinner before a concert at Phillips Center, what a delightful experience! Our waitress was a pert, bouncy young thing full of life! A wonderful way to start dinner. Besides being very attentive, our drinks arrived fast and cold! Dinner consisted of a Salmon Flatbread (which we'd never tried) and was fantastic! Very flavorful, and crisp! While I had the "Black and Blue" burger - all I can say is...WOW! Done perfectly, with a tangy mustard atop onion rings, - trust me here - a FULL mouthful! Very, very good! Oh, oh, mouth is watering again! Oh, and a HUGE helping of Slaw!

Staff changed the channel so I could watch golf - no problems.
We had a "Gift Certificate," (Buy one, get one)....again no troubles at all.
We WILL BE BACK! Wonderful experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Skip this sports bar. Use to be Panama Joes.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Clue: Monday night football and only one other table of customers. No drink specials missed happy hour ends at 7. I am driver so ok with me. My food was horrible, grilled grouper sandwich, fish old or frozen tasted like it was going bad. No flavor on my husbsnds prime rib blackened sandwich, one piece of meat on a roll, very hard to chew,did have au jus but didn't make it better. Dry beans and rice. French fries good. Waitress was nice. I did send my sandwich back and said I didn't want anything else. No apology for the food. Manager never came over,sandwich taken off bill then it was decided to take off the beans and rice which was suppose to be included as a side. We will never eat there again. Restaurants come and go if not good so don't think this will be around for long.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mac2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow, fish and steak restaurant in NW is superb!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Four of us went and tried a variety of things off the menu. The grilled plank salmon was delightful, the veggies cooked and flavored to perfection. Two different steaks ordered also excellent, and the bar drinks a good two for one deal when we went. What a nice addition to NW Gainesville. Went expecting sports bar food and found so much more (still a good tv spot for games)!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbertAlberta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“Unexpected food for a sports bar”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There are several dishes that are very good. The burrito is am amazing deal and a unique twist on the conventional variety. The drizzle sauce is sure to get a thumbs up. Also, the chili hamburger is awesome. They melt the chili to the hamburger with cheese so it isn't a messy as it sounds. Finally, the volcano shrimp appetizer will warm your mouth. It is fried shrimp on a bed of salad. The kicker is the shrimp is covered in Karachi sauce to give it a great flavor. Come on Tuesday and enjoy the Trivia Night contest but be prepared for some challenging questions and competition.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“go gators”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

WE watched a Gators football game here. Great, attractive wait staff, good service, very nice restrooms with TV's over urinals in mens room, good food and surprisingly decent prices. We had the raw oysters and a flat bread steak and blue cheese pizza. Everything was good and priced right. Buckets are reasonable too. Great place! Popular place, crowed, a real sports bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SixcDogTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chomps Sports Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing