We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Friday Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swamp Head Brewery

Swamp Head Brewery
Ranked #12 of 61 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Friday Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went to Swamp Head for the first time on Friday. It was great because they had the outdoor area setup with a food truck and a DJ. I was worried the DJ would suck but instead was really good. They played good music with lots of different styles. The only reason we didn't stay later was it got cold and wet. We will go back.

Helpful?
Thank holliel0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool place with a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location is a little weird, but overall, the place is great! The beer is delicious, and cost about $5. They close early, which is unfortunate. The staff was very friendly and happy to give out samples of the beer to help you make a decision.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brittany220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My husband gives this an easy 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I don't drink beer, but he says "Its delicious, 5 stars." Well there you have it. Everything else he rates is a 1. So this place must kick butt. It seems a bit back woods to me, but that's Gville for you - rustic. If you save the containers (buy them initially) you can take them back to fill em up next time. When you're done drinking out of them, rinse them out, they don't replace them they reuse them. If you're going to get beer for the game on Saturday, make sure to buy it on Friday by 4 o'clock, otherwise you won't be able to get in - its too busy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everyone who works here is very friendly and knowledgeable. They take beer to a whole new level. Take the tour!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Local Craft Brewery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stumbled upon Swamp Head Brewery a couple years ago and this place just keeps improving. We are in Gainesville several times a year and always stop in on a Friday afternoon for a couple of beers. Great place to relax and enjoy one of their craft beers. They also do a brisk take-out service. Friday nights during Gator home games can get really crowded so the staff has now included more outdoor space, a DJ and a food truck. Parking is tough so arrive early. Good times at Swamp Head!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal22SWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swamp Head Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Swamp Head Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing