We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there to eat”
Review of Stubbies & Steins - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stubbies & Steins
Cuisines: German
Description: offers many international and craft beers on tap and in bottles, as well as German cuisine--brunch on Sunday as well.
Restaurant details
Description: offers many international and craft beers on tap and in bottles, as well as German cuisine--brunch on Sunday as well.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go there to eat”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place is primarily a bar specializing in foreign beers.
The good:
They have very good food, mostly German with some specials once in a while (last time I went, crawfish etoufee) try the jaegerschnitzel, potato pancakes, sausage platter.. all amazing. They have upwards of 400 beers here.

The bad:
Honestly not much. It will burn a hole in your wallet for one. There aren't any cheap beers here and no liquor. They are not open Mondays and although its a bar, no smoking inside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun place to go and grab something to eat.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A large beer selection and good food. The atmosphere is casual and it's a fun place to go to socialize with friends.
It's a little loud and not really a "family" restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cats32669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
2 reviews
“Try the fries they are great”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The atmosphere is ok. The have a lot of selection and premium beer. However, it is not a real aficionado's den. It is like a imitation hipster bar. All the beer, but none of the people you'd care to see. Plus, Gainesville has poor beer selection, so this place charges a super premium for average brews. They can do that because there is not much competition. The fries are good though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beer and a great atmosphere what else could you want!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

IF you love beer like I do, you will love Stubbies. Some of the staff are very helpful while some can be a bit beer snobbish, but they do know their stuff. I love this place to go try out some new beers and get the goods on tap. Have had the food and it goes very well with a few pints.

Cheers!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malo1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Creative place with great beer!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The beer was absolutely great at this place. The whole lay out was really creative, I liked that they had the two sides you could choose from; either the Australian place or the German place. The food was to die for! We only got appetizers but me and my sister split them and we had to order more because they were so good. The service was great and so was there massive selection of beers. We were looking for a particular berry beer and they actually had it which was surprising and great!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank weekendtripper42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stubbies & Steins also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing