We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Laurel Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Laurel Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The property is perfectly located. They are far enough away from the college scene yet close enough to walk a few blocks and be surrounded by restaurants and music. Monta and Peggy were gracious hosts and served a delicious three course breakfast. We have spent much more at other B&B's and never been served like we were or felt as comfortable in someone else's home. It is nice to see a human side to the B&B's, when so many are treated as strictly business. We didn't feel like customers, we felt like guests while staying at The Laurel Oak Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
146
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Laurel Oak twice now, and will no doubt stay there again.

The beds are ridiculously comfortable. The rooms are well furnished. Ours wasn't huge, but it was certainly comfortable. The gas fireplace was great for warming up after a moonlit canoe trip. The bathtub is nearly as large as our bathroom at home! There was plenty of hot water to fill it, and my wife loved the spa.

The food is excellent. It's fancy enough to suit my wife, but Monta and Peg were more than happy to accommodate my somewhat more simple tastes, too. They had a variety of fruit juices, plus various teas, plus coffee. There was fresh fruit, followed by French toast stuffed with chocolate and served with fresh raspberries. Since I don't care for raspberries, Monta brought me warm maple syrup, instead.

We'll definitely stay there again, when we have an excuse to stay the night in Gainesville.

Room Tip: If you're going to be there during the day / early evening, you may want a room other than the L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just spent two wonderful days at the Laurel Oak Inn . This was our fourth trip to Gainesville to visit our daughter . We have stayed the other times at one of the commercial hotels in downtown and decided to try a B and B this trip. We are so glad we did . Beautiful property with lovely grounds, a wonderfully restored historic Inn, delightful attentive innkeepers and great homemade breakfast.
Will definitely return on our next trip to Gainesville in April .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
267 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We felt like we were welcomed by friends as we arrived at Laurel Oak Inn. We loved it, the room is very comfortable, very comfy bed, and a lovely large ensuite. Fantastic home cooked breakfast. In easy walking distance of downtown Gainesville, which has a great choice of places to eat. Would recommend Laurel Oak Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarlowO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We travelled to Gainesville to visit our son, who is attending the University of Florida. The hotels didn't seem too interesting, so I decided to book the Laurel Oak Inn based on reviews I'd read. It's almost difficult to put into words just how wonderful the Laurel Oak Inn is, and how warm, friendly, welcoming, knowledgeable and accommodating the hosts, Monta and Peggy, are. Photos of the house itself hardly do it justice. It's simply gorgeous. What struck me every single day was how wonderful the house smells. The rooms are charming, immaculately clean, the full bathroom featured Aveda bath products, incredibly comfortable beds and high quality linens. The porch off our upstairs room had rocking chairs and duvet covers for chillier evenings. The three-course breakfasts are truly gourmet-quality. We enjoyed having a glass of wine around 5:00 p.m., sometimes in our room, sometimes shared with the hosts. Monta and Peggy are very helpful in guiding visitors to the best Gainesville has to offer, whether restaurants, entertainment, sports, museums or features of the surrounding area. They asked us on a few occasions whether there was anything we needed to make our stay more enjoyable, but it isn't possible to enjoy a vacation spot more than this. This is an outstanding bed and breakfast. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Gainesville.

Room Tip: Our room was "the Lilac," on the second floor, and it had a beautiful porch with wicker ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This B&B is truly outstanding, and it turned my business trip to Gainesville into a memorable and fascinating experience. The proprietors make their guests feel welcome from the start, and they do nearly everything to meet all their needs. This starts with the individually decorated and wonderfully equipped guestrooms, and it continues throughout the day with a rich and delicious breakfast (truly special!) and manifold opportunities to enjoy the beautiful interior design or the inviting porches. After a long day, the Laurel Oak Inn is the perfect place for recreation, and its great location is a good starting point to enjoy and explore the area. In short, it is the perfect accomodation for any kind of trip - business or a distinguished vacation.

Room Tip: The Lily was a great choice for relaxing after a busy day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricarda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My mom and I stayed in the Library when she came for my 21st birthday and it was wonderful. The bath products were from Aveda and the bed was tempurpedic. There was even a cute fireplace that we put on in the evenings. Monta and Peggy could not have been more welcoming hosts. They cooked the most amazing breakfasts (and cookies) and provided great conversation. They have an outdoor cat that was so friendly it would jump right up into your lap. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone. Best place to stay in Gainesville for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurel Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurel Oak Inn

Property: The Laurel Oak Inn
Address: 221 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6806
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior lodging in an uncluttered, meticulously maintained eco-friendly environment.Uncompromised service blended with warmth and attention to detail. Located blocks from the core of Gainesville's vibrant downtown and nestled in a quiet, residential (and historic!) neighborhood one mile from the eastern edge of the University of Florida campus.Rates range from $125 to $199 per evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing