We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST B&B EVER!”
Review of The Laurel Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Laurel Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST B&B EVER!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I just experienced the most wonderful bed and breakfast yet. The Laurel Oak Inn was fantastic. We traveled on a romantic getaway and boy was it perfect. Monta and Peggy were just a splendid pair. The moment we walked in, we were offered wine and were greeted so warmly. Monta suggested places to visit during our stay, and even got us to take a scenic route (which not only helped us beat traffic but got us there through a really beautiful countryside). The accommodations were right out of a magazine. The turndown in the evening, couldn't have come at a better moment. Breakfast was served fresh. Fruits and protein, all adorned with freshly picked herbs. Candles were lit, freshly cut flowers on the table, and elegant silver. I must have taken a dozen photographs of the house, indoors and out. Even the bathtub was so inviting, with the home-made bath salts and the jets....ooh man I wanted to stay for days. Too bad we only had one night to stay in Gainesville. Next time, I will stay here for several evenings. I am so thankful for your generosity. Thanks again, highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the master suite, I fell in love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
148
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JessicaK43
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's official - The Laurel Oak Inn is the favorite B&B of me and my husband. Always immaculate, luxurious, and completely relaxing. This was a quick trip after a tough week, and in a day Monta and Peggy had us renewed and ready to face the next week (wine, homemade cookies, a perfectly comfortable bed, whirlpool tub with Aveda products and homemade bath salts, and homemade blueberry pancakes in the morning will do that.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Due to our stay at the Laurel Oak Inn my husband and I have decided that as long as there's a bed and breakfast around we will no longer stay at a hotel. The service we received was way beyond what we expected, Monta and Peggy were absolutely fabulous. They make you feel part of the family and go above and beyond to help you in anyway you need. We highly recommend that if you're going to be in the area that you stay with Monta and Peggy we're sure you will enjoy and love your experience just as much as we did. P.S. The Breakfast there is like having a private 5 star chef it is wonderful!!!!! We will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivierefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My brother, neice and I were passing through Gainesville on a bike trip. We stayed one night at the Laurel Oak Inn, but all of us wished that we could have stayed a week. This B and B is so comfortable, beautiful and relaxing. Monte and Peggy are friendly, helpful and it is obvious that they love making their guests feel at home. I don't eat breakfast myself (my brother and neice do) and they talked about this particular breakfast for the rest of the trip (and compared every other one to it....none compared). One word describes our experience at the Laurel Oak Inn: Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbutterfly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently stayed at this B&B - and i frequent B&B's all over the US, business and pleasure. The Laurel Oak Inn is the real deal...great hosts, top-notch food, inviting atmosphere, above and beyond service, local knowledge, etc. Even the cat was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A more pleasant stay one could not have hoped for...Monte is the consumate host, taking care of every need. The rooms are immaculately clean, modernly comfortable, and full of charming character. From the moment we arrived it felt as if the house was ours and we were home away from home. Even the surrounding neighborhood was beautiful to go for a stroll before bed. Shops were close by if in need of additonal items. After a superbly restful night, we awoke to the smell of coffee and breakfast followed shortly. Scrumptious...with vegan/vegetarian options considered by chef Monte! The Laurel Oak will be our only destination when in the Gainesville, FL area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJMiller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Laurel Oak Inn in Gainesville for two nights on our way back North and really enjoyed it. Monta and Peggy run a first class and very friendly inn. They obviously take great pride in what they do and we enjoyed hanging around with them, swapping stories and getting information about the area. These people are extremely personable! When they learned we liked to hike and explore they pointed us to the Payne's Prairie state park which we enjoyed immensely. Their advice on restaurants was great too. There's a wine and snack event at 5PM where you can meet other interesting people. The room had a massage tub that we really liked after a long day's hike. Also there are several entertaining outdoor cats to bond with. If you need a change from the usual hotels I really recommend the Laurel Oak Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
569 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurel Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurel Oak Inn

Property: The Laurel Oak Inn
Address: 221 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6806
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior lodging in an uncluttered, meticulously maintained eco-friendly environment.Uncompromised service blended with warmth and attention to detail. Located blocks from the core of Gainesville's vibrant downtown and nestled in a quiet, residential (and historic!) neighborhood one mile from the eastern edge of the University of Florida campus.Rates range from $125 to $199 per evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing