We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious Hosts and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Laurel Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Laurel Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cooper City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracious Hosts and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Laurel Oak Inn is a beautiful home set on beautiful property. Our room was comfy and cozy. It was so nice to wake up to the smell of coffee and a delicious breakfast! The location is perfect, close to downtown and UF campus, but away from traffic. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
146
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, RL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Laurel Oak is a beautiful property and the room we had, Lilac, was wonderful. It had a nice porch and was big. Breakfast was way good. But the best part is the welcome feeling you get from the hosts, Peggy and Monta. They really make you feel like you are more than just someone staying the night. They know Gainesville and where to go and what to do. When you arrive there are home-made cookies waiting for you plus a glass of wine! Downtown Gainesville is close, you can walk, and many nice restaurants are located downtown. If you go to Gainesville to catch a football game or visit your kids at UF, this is a much nicer alternative than the chain hotels located by I-75. And on football weekends, probably less expensive too!

Room Tip: I think the Lilac is the only room with a private porch (but there is a big front and side porch if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Laurel Oak Inn is a beautiful and comfortable place to stay; just like a home away from home. Monta is an excellent host as well as a great cook. The house has been beautifully restored. The residence and grounds are immaculate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

When God got around to making innkeepers, He created Monta and Peggy...and then He should have quit while He was ahead.

To be more specific and less ethereal, the grounds are gorgeous inside and out, the hosts are as welcoming as you can imagine from the first moment to the last, and everything about your stay is about comfort and convenience. You can pay a very fair rate, especially if you're willing to settle for a slightly smaller but still more than sufficient Library room, or for a modest increase you can stay in a bigger and even more well-equipped accommodation upstairs.

The breakfasts you're served might--literally--be the best breakfast anyone has ever placed before you in your entire life. Warm, wonderful cookies await you at any given moment. And comped alcohol at happy hour? Come on...that's almost too much!

Just because reviews seem inauthentic if there's not even a minor quibble, I did wish the window blinds were as wide as the windows themselves to keep out some more light. But that reduces my rating to 4.99999 out of 5.

If you think I'm exaggerating, I strongly encourage you to wander down to Gainesville and find out for yourself. You'll be thrilled you did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are considering buying a Tempur-pedic mattress and wanted to sleep on one before buying it. Three of the rooms at the Inn have Tempur-pedic mattresses so we spent the night to try out the mattress. This turned out to be the best B&B we have ever visited. The house is beautiful and romantic. The food and hospitality were amazing, and the owners have included many thoughtful touches such as lighted makeup mirrors and robes. The restaurant Monta recommended was superb. The owners also gave us a tip on the best entrance to see Payne's Prairie. We followed the tip, and we actually saw the wild horses on the prairie. An unforgettable north Florida experience!

Room Tip: The spa tub in the room was a very nice feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our family stayed at the inn during parents weekend this year. The inn was beautiful and the rooms were immaculate. The owners Peg and Monta were very welcoming, it was like staying at friends house. Food was delicious, and my daughter particularly liked the chocolate cookies Peg cooked in the afternoon. We would definately recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a relaxing cozy place to stay in Gainesville. The owners also should be on the payroll of the Gainesville Chamber of Commerce, they had good recommendations for restaurants and sites to see. We actually bumped into them at a nature park they recommended and they acted as our nature guides.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were in town for a football game and were fortunate enough to snag a room at this B&B. It is a beautifully restored home in a lovely area, within walking distance of almost everything. Monta and Peggy are delightful, the rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable. The breakfast was to die for. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bocasolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurel Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurel Oak Inn

Property: The Laurel Oak Inn
Address: 221 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6806
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior lodging in an uncluttered, meticulously maintained eco-friendly environment.Uncompromised service blended with warmth and attention to detail. Located blocks from the core of Gainesville's vibrant downtown and nestled in a quiet, residential (and historic!) neighborhood one mile from the eastern edge of the University of Florida campus.Rates range from $125 to $199 per evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing