We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Laurel Oak Inn
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$93
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
306
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
306
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender roomorganic coffeewonderful hostslibrary roomgourmet breakfasthouse is beautifulbath productsgas fireplacecocktail hoursocial hourcookiesrocking chairshome away from homewonderful stayvisit gainesvillecomfortable bedfront porch
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 308 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We've been staying at B&Bs for years, many times a year at this one, and the Laurel Oak Inn is by far our favorite. Peg and Monta are warm and welcoming, and they make every visit to their home special. The house is beautiful, the food is wonderful (don't miss the chocolate cookies) and the location is great for walking to local restaurants. If you're going to be in Gainesville for any reason, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fern M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We are frequent B&B-ers and this is truly one of the very best we've ever stayed at. The thoroughly renovated home has all the upscale amenities one could expect, yet preserves the homey atmosphere of your favorite den. For many, the highlight of a great B&B experience is the gourmet breakfast, and Monta and Peggy never fail to impress with their amazing meals. The wine and snacks in the late afternoon are the perfect end for the day, one of the many grace notes to the wonderful experience at the inn. There are plenty of great restaurants within easy driving distance and a wealth of activities and touristy things to do during the day, all easily planned with the help of Monta's encyclopedic knowledge of the local area. Monta and Peggy have created a truly exceptional B&B experience. A minor note for some, but we also liked the emphasis on recycling and composting. This one is definitely on the list for many repeat stays.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BobHoward9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have been Fall visitors to the Laurel Oak Inn for over a decade - really ever since Peggy and Monta finished saving this property from years of abuse. Their hard work and dedication did not stop when they refurbished this gem of a building. Their efforts have not lagged since they opened the Inn but have benefitted every guest to this fine Old House. Every guest comes away with memories of warm scones and warmer friendships. They may not be from Gainesville, but Monta and Peggy have embraced this Gator town and provide ever guest with access to their "insiders" knowledge of where to go to dinner, for a snack, local music or the arts or just a late night libation. We always look forward to visiting Gainesville, not just to spend time with our Gator friends, but to enjoy the warmth of our hosts' hospitality and to see what has changed. Their warm welcome and Gourmet style breakfasts, however, have always been an element that encourages us to leave the comfy beds and enjoy life at the Laurel Oak Inn.

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is a problem, the Inn does have a room on the main floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gator1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Both my husband and I were looking forward to a weekend of relaxation and unwind... and both were found at this warm bed and breakfast run by Monta and Peggy! Accomodations at a restored B&B often provide relics of past relatives or homeowners, and what it must have been like to live in past times. Laurel Oaks provides this charm, plus a 5 course, breakfast. (Monta's toasted banana nut bread was to die for, and we smelled it cooking the night before while enjoying a glass of wine before going to dinner!) We also ate dinner at "The Top" a local restaurant recommended, and we will be back again to relax and unwind at this lovely inn! We stayed in the Lilac, and look forward to stays in other rooms upon our future visits! Pam and JOhn Marron, Tampa Bay, Fl

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lilac room which has an outdoor balcony, enjoyed afternoon wine there. Beautiful 2nd story view of grounds!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Laurel Oak Inn a few times now and it is a consistently excellent experience. Peggy and Monta Burt embrace their role as innkeepers with relish. Their breakfasts are gourmet and their practice of greeting you at the end of a long day with a nice glass of wine and some snacks is even better. We stayed in both the cottage and the Inn and loved both. They haven't overlooked a single detail to provide for their guests' comfort. Their tempurpedic beds and linens are amazing. It is one of the few places where I relax as soon as I set my luggage down.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnabFt_Lauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews