We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Laurel Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Laurel Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Just a great stay! The Inn is spotless and company too much fun. You can't find a better place to relax and enjoy life. We have traveled world wide and this is one of our favorites, so don't tell too many of your friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flsupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 301 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

Peggy and Monta set the standard for friendliness and elegance in bed and breakfast accommodation in downtown Gainesville. They welcomed my adult daughter and myself into their beautifully restored Queen Anne home, showed us into a suite-sized room so perfect we had to photograph each other the moment Monta left us to settle in. Somehow they had built in a jacuzzi without detracting from the old-world elegance, and there was plenty of floor space despite the king-sized antique bed, the lovely sofa in the bay window, the walk-in closet and separate powder room, with luxurious robes for each of us. Monta was full of recommendations for fine restaurants and evening entertainment, and he sent us off the next morning with our onward route mapped out after a delicious four-course breakfast. We loved the kittens playing in the garden.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midlife2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at the Laurel Oak a couple of times and each time everything was perfect. The host greet you as if you have been friends for years. The wine and cheese get- together was lovely, the bedroom with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub was beautiful with all that you could want. The breakfast with a wonderul presentation was delicious. I recommend this B&B to all, and look forward to staying there again in the future.
Barry's

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marveltranquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Hubby and I travel extensively and always try to stay at Bed and Breakfasts. The Laurel Oak Inn is hands down the best. It is everything an Inn should be. Monta and Peggy are perfect innkeepers, always at the ready with a glass of wine, a double chocolate cookie, or great conversation. It is a home away from home. If you like crisp linens, super cozy beds, and waking up to the scents of coffee brewing and bacon cooking, this inn is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ufchristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I travel quite a bit, and rarely write reviews. The Laurel Oak Inn, where I have stayed twice, is absolutely superb in terms of gracious hospitality, top-notch comfort, and outstanding cuisine. Breakfast is a tour de force. A very special place.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
Thank jlpt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We had an amazing stay here. Pampering their guests and making them feel at home is top priority. Breakfast was amazing and kept us full until dinner time. We can't wait to visit again and we will recommend this to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katmendez36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I needed a place to stay that was close to my friend’s wedding reception site. Well, I didn’t expect to discover such a gem! Even though I never go to Gainesville, this place makes me want to make a special trip, just to stay there again!

ROOM: The Lilac Room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. It was so elegant and dreamy! The private porch made this room PERFECT. Fresh flowers too! In fact, there were fresh flowers throughout the entire house!

BREAKFAST: All I can say is, WOW…delicious, fantastic presentation… Whole sprigs of herbs as garnish, fresh lemon zest and honey, every kind of juice you could imagine (including one with blackberry, apple, and acai), and a very creative and tasty orange-brown sugar-butter syrup with their awesome pecan pancakes! Their banana bread is amazing too!!

AMENITIES: In our bathroom, there were rosemary mint Aveda products and homemade bath salts, along with anything else you would need; there also was a stocked fridge in the lounge area with beer, wine, juice, water, etc., and a constant supply of their Double Decadent Chocolate Chip Cookies! The whole house was decorated so tastefully and elegantly – and all by the wife, Peggy! I commented that she should start a side business as an interior decorator 

INNKEEPERS: Peggy was out of town until the last day we were there, so we only met her briefly, but she is a sweetheart; her husband, Monta, who we interacted with the most, is a sweetheart as well and so helpful and informative!

LOCATION: Perfect location, with downtown just a couple short blocks away!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurel Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurel Oak Inn

Address: 221 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6806
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: $125 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior lodging in an uncluttered, meticulously maintained eco-friendly environment.Uncompromised service blended with warmth and attention to detail. Located blocks from the core of Gainesville's vibrant downtown and nestled in a quiet, residential (and historic!) neighborhood one mile from the eastern edge of the University of Florida campus.Rates range from $125 to $199 per evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing