We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$105
$94
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn University(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$88
$85
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$80
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$116
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$97
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$98
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Gateway Grand(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
100
151
85
40
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
151
85
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoward johnsoncontinental breakfastroom was cleancoffee potneeded a place to stayfelt safeking roomstay there againpleasant stayshands hospitalone night stayfront desk staffmotelmicrowaveironuniversityhairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 398 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Hotel is old and decrepit. Outside is filthy with dead bugs, mud and debris and no way uou can see that and even think of getting into the pool.Air conditioning leaking and loud. Howard Johnson is an old american estanlishment- shame what it had become.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 489aliciaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thanks for your review. Please understand that in Florida in the summer, there are many bugs in nature. The fact that the bugs are dead indicate that out pest control is working. Also, all air conditioners that are wall unites leak, and are noisy. Lastly, we do pass our Wyndham inspections with flying colors every year. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

We took photos of the stains and the nasty sheets. Our key did not work she said I should not keep it in my wallet lol. Also we booked a king bed non smoking they tried to put us in a double smoking room. When we checked in the husband made me feel like he was integrating me ask if our kids were staying with us. We were they to see my daught. When we came out of our room the wife went out of her way too see how many came out of the room. What a nasty and dirty, gross place. We have photos of the nasty mildew

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ericmL6550JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you for your review. Please note that it is hotel policy to know how many guests are staying in the room for for code and safety purposes. As for the reservation, we give rooms that are listed in the reservation booked. If you booked with a third party, we give the room that was outlined in the booking when it comes to us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Staying here was a godsend. I came and spent a week after my husband's death. He died at home, and I really could not bear to stay there.

The family who runs the place were very kind and hospitable and looked after me in my time of need. They made a difficult time much easier to handle.

The motel is nice and clean and well kept. The breakfast is fine and was enough for me. I recommend this property for a reasonably priced, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank pauladT8085ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

We are very saddened and sorry to hear about the passing of your husband. We are glad to hear that you found comfort in our hospitality. We understand this is a very difficult time, and we are here for you in your time of need. May his soul rest in eternal peace, and please do let us know if there is anything else we can do to help.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews