We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this hotel if possible”
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I recently stayed at this HO JO in Gainesville. we had booked 3 rooms with the hotel. Upon checking all three rooms had a bad smell to them. The carpet was stained and soiled in many spots. THe hotel clims to have been renovated and remodeld 2 years gao but teh linens and bed prove otherwise. In two of our three room the bed were worn down to the springs. The shets were worn so thin they had holes. I was disgusted to put my head on teh pillow care or pillow for that matter. More so, the springs were so bad i had to ask fo a pillow to pad my side form teh springs and i was told the hotel didn't have any extra pillows. They did somewhow scounge up three but those were the oldes and gross pillows i have ever sen. I am not comparing this to a five star hotel i am comparing it to any other HO JO. to make matters worse the fire alam in one room was runnign on a lowbattery and beeped though out the night. The folowing day we asked for the battery to be changed and they were unable to give us a new battery. The guest service agent handed us a used battery and told us to replace it. Of course when we did the alarm still beeped becasue that battery was also low.

More so the staff was not friendly. They will not bring anything to you, you must go get it and the two members incountered were rude.

Over all this hotel is not worth you stay. However some may get left with noe choice when Gainesville is busy and every where else is booked booked because no one wants to stay here unless they can't get anyother room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAi12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I greatly apologize about your stay in 2009. In late 2010 we were completely remodeled and received new carpets, new beds, new bedding, as well as a new roof, and appliances in the rooms. Our façade have even been updated and now reflects a more modern look. We have also changed staff and would love to welcome you back to this new and improved Howard Johnson of Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    146
    81
    39
    17
See reviews for
151
65
42
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
teays valley, wv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We attended the 2009 NHRA Gaternationals in Gainesville and needed a room for one night only. Based on the trip advisor reviews it appeared this was a small, but nice and clean place to stay. NOT SO! The motel sign in the front stated "NEW AND UPDATED". Well, that is NOT SO! Our room cost was $175 for ONE night. I expected for this price to be the equivalent of a Hilton, Holiday Inn Select, etc. However, when we opened the door to the room all of us about dropped our chins when we had an old room with NO UPDATES AT ALL. I guess they were using the old "bait and switch" tactic to get people to stay there. The carpet was old, the beds were not comfortable - you could feel the springs in the mattress, the bathroom was old. We were so extremely disappointed in this motel in that they mislead their customers with their NEW AND UPDATED sign. I will NEVER EVER stay there again. For $175 we should have had plush bedding, nice carpet, new bathroom, etc. DO NOT STAY THERE - IT IS TERRIBLE!!!!! DO NOT PAY ATTENTION TO THEIR NEWLY RENOVATED SIGN OUT FRONT - IT IS A LIE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragstervlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I greatly apologize about your stay in 2009, we were excited to begin remodeling and did have a small group of rooms that had been completed, there is no excuse for the fact you did not receive one of the newly remodeled room. We greatly apologize for your inconvienace. However, in late 2010 we were completely remodeled and received new carpets, new beds, new bedding, as well as a new roof, and appliances in all of the rooms. Our façade has even been updated and now reflects a more modern look. This upcoming year we hope to upgrade to large flat screen TVs as well. We have changed staff and would love to welcome you back to this new and improved Howard Johnson of Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

The rooms were attractive and clean. The lobby was nice and bright and the continental breakfast selection (muffins, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, and tea), cleanliness, and presentation were better than many. We enjoyed the in-room coffee pot and refrigerator and appreciated the nice shampoo and conditioner (the next low-rate hotel we stayed at in Savannah didn't even have that!). The pool, though outdoors and unheated, was still usable due to a warm spell and my kids loved running around the open grassy area next to the parking lot. The staff was accomodating and polite. Overall, we were very pleased and pleasantly surprised given the very affordable rates. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaSRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

I have to agree with the previous writer. We also booked the hotel based on the reviews on this site and were disappointed when we arrived at the hotel. First of all the hotel looks generally run down. Both rooms that we had booked in our party had stained carpets and hard beds. I don't know how this hotel got such good reviews. We are not picky at all about our hotels, but at this price (around $70) we expected a lot more.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdbeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologize for your stay being less that satisfactory. Since your stay we have been completely remodeled (End of 2010) and received new beds, new bedding, new carpet, new appliances, new roof, and even a new façade, giving us a new and updated look. We would love to welcome you and your guest back to experience the NEW Howard Johnson of Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We reserved a room here based on the reviews. We arrived late at night on a busy back to school weekend so everyone in town was booked. We were given a 1st floor room which was extremely outdated. The carpet was soiled, the bed linens worn & the room smelled.......not sure if it was a former pet friendly or smoking room. We called the front desk but the motel was booked ........no extra pillows, no roll away . The front sign advertises remodelled rooms but if you ask they inform you "some remodelled rooms". The desk staff was very polite & nice but we cancelled our second night stay.

Please ask upon booking if your room is updated or not.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Mllto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologize about your stay in 2009 at that time we were in need of repairs, however in late 2010 we were completely remodeled and our hotel received new carpets, new beds, new bedding, as well as a new roof, and appliances in all of the rooms. Our façade have even been updated and now reflects a more modern look, would love to welcome you back to this new and improved Howard Johnson of Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

I stayed here for one night and was quite pleased with the experience. The room was fairly cheap, large,and clean. In my room I found a basket with complementary bottled waters, candy bar, and chex mix. The room included an ironing board, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. I did not have a computer with me, so I couldn't test out the free high speed internet. The free breakfast was average (cereal, fruit, toast, bagels, danish, juice, coffee, etc). I only stopped here one night and I left early the next day, so I can't comment on the convenience of the motel's location.

  • Liked — Large room, Free snacks
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DecTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venezuela
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

I loved this hotel!! it was quite comfortable, and most of all, very very clean!! I stayed there for one night, and the service was really good...they offer free internet and breakfast!! soif you're planning to go to gainesville, this is a very good choice!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank yalyrivasve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#27 of 44 in Gainesville
1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#24 of 44 in Gainesville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 44 in Gainesville
561 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing