We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly & comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The bed was huge and very comfortable. My husband and I slept great. The office chair was nice, and the room had plenty of space to accommodate my sin's pak-n-play. The staff was also more than friendly and helpful when the baby got sick on the bed, poor thing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 384 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The yards on the property include a volleyball net, basketball hoop and grill area. That's not your usual HoJo. The exterior was clean and well designed, looking much newer than most properties in the immediate area. We stayed Mon-Thurs this week and found the room very comfortable. We were able to swap out towels anytime we needed and were otherwise left alone, which is our preference. The continental breakfast didn't call me enough to get up for it, although having milk available for our cereal in our room was a very helpful touch. We used and appreciated both the microwave and refrigerator. There was a small freezer section we really used. We slept well, had a good selection of cable channels. One thing, the internet was not an easy connection, in fact we shared my hotspot to get our devices on line.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Our team at Howard Johnson Gainesville very much appreciates your positive feedback and review! Thank you for commenting on our outdoor space which includes volleyball, basketball hoop and our new covered pavilion with picnic tables and grills. We are pleased that you found your room comfortable and were happy with our cable channels and housekeeping schedule. All of our rooms include a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator and are glad that they were useful during your stay. I would like to apoligize for the problems you had connecting with the internet and because of this have contacted my provider. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank caseysacajewa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank letsgonow53
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 46 in Gainesville
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#29 of 46 in Gainesville
1,355 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 46 in Gainesville
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#24 of 46 in Gainesville
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $74 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing