We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked the desk and chair in the corner. the desk chair...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Baton Rouge
1 review
“I liked the desk and chair in the corner. the desk chair...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I liked the desk and chair in the corner.
the desk chair was comfortable. I also liked that I could get a room with one king sized bed. I also liked that there was a microwave and refridgerator in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your king size room with the desk and chair. The furnishings are new and we are glad that you found them to be comfortable. All of our rooms have a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker and I am pleased that you enjoyed them also. Thank you again, for choosing to stay at the Howard Johnson Gainesville and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    116
    62
    31
    14
See reviews for
117
52
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here with my parents and this place was amazing. My mother is in a wheelchair with MS and my father is also handicapped. The rooms were more than accomodating and the staff was amazing. I would recommend this hotel anytime you travel through Gainesville. Everything was clean and comfortable. We LOVED it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are pleased that you and your parents were comfortable during your stay and that you found our staff "amazing". Thank you for your recommendation, it is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deatsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were just there and have stayed at several other motels in area and by far this is the best. We found it to be very clean and confortable the management was very friendly and helpful.
There is not enough I can say about it we just booked for next year when I go back to the doctors. It was that good convient to everything and easy to get around to places.
They go out of their way for you. Thanks to Paul and Jody and all the people that work there
The Pratts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and there was not a lot of excess noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Howard Johnson Gainesville. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and review. We are pleased that you were happy with your room, our location and staff. We try very hard to make our hotel a home away from home for all of our guests. We really enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Gainesville. Thank you again for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was a very nice place to stay! There was enough room for my three little kids, my husband and I. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and more then helpful! I was not disappointed in my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbygall22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are delighted that you found your room clean, comfortable and our staff friendly. It was our pleasure to have you and your precious children here as our guest. We greatly appreciate your recommendation for future guest and welcome you here anytime you visit Gainesville. Diablo our fish says "Hello".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#17 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing