We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“No problems here”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I liked the hotel. It's sort of in the middle of nothing, but I didn't need anything. The location was safe and the rooms very clean. The staff was friendly and I was surprised to see food at the hotel's breakfast other than cereal. They had my favorite yogurt! I loved the bed. Wish I could still be sleeping on it. Very clean rooms, though the bathroom looked like it could do with a remodeling soon. Nice sized space. Their location is pretty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    145
    81
    38
    17
See reviews for
149
65
42
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SPRINGFIELD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Clean. Comfortable bed. Great Internet Speed. I hate going to motels that offer free internet yet it rarely works or is slower than dial-up. Their internet was running about 10mbps which is very fast for any hotel/motel. The breakfast was very basic and it doesn't have a workout facility, but for $50/night, you couldn't get a better value in Gainesville. I'd definitely stay there again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Paid less than $50/n and I got a $50/n type of hotel; if that makes sense to you. Traditional room, fairly clean and tidy, old tube style TV, small desk, mini fridge & microwave, and the typical toiletries for the bathroom. Beds were really comfortable, and A/C was very powerful and we slept in almost 65 degrees when it was over 90 outside ;-) Location is good in terms of distance to the places we needed to go, but we did not like it was very close to other "motels" that did not look that good to me. Make sure that if you don't smoke and don't like the smell of cigarettes, that they give you a room that is not close to the smoking section, since the smell permeates to other rooms. Free breakfast was exactly that... the "free" kind, so our expectations were not that high on that department. Cereal and baked goods were a bit past due, but fruits, yogurt and milk were OK. Coffee was awful. Reception/Manager were very nice and accomodating, moving us from that smelly room they first gave us to a really nice one and smoke-smell-free. I'd stay with them again if I can get the same cheap price.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the same side of the hotel lobby - it does not smell like smoke/cigarettes... of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavierSotomayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I don't think it was a great value for our money. $73 a night was too much for where we stayed. It was kept clean but I expected more for my money. On a bright note- their complimentary breakfast was kept in their lobby which was ok! Based on the reviews I read from previous customers (saying it was excellent) is why I chose this Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We stopped I Gainesville to visit family and stayed here based on Tripadvisor rating and price. Rated as a 4 out of 5. Our kids walked in the room and took off their shoes...black feet in a few minutes. They had just painted the room but not cleaned the floor afterwards. Front desk offered no apology and the guy who came to vacuum said nothing. I am always more picky with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, FL
Level Contributor
517 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were not looking for anything fancy and just a night's stay as we were passing through Gainesville. We selected HoJo Express Inn as an affordable stop. The Inn is about 4 minutes off the I-75 interchange but a relatively easy find.
We were greeted in a very friendly manner and was quickly in our room. Now remember that this is a budget type in so our room was pretty basic but clean and likely recently remodeled. No flat screen TV's here but I am not here to watch TV. The king bed was comfortable (I slept through the night so that is a very good sign).
Breakfast was the minimal selection of juice, cereal, yogurt and muffins but quite alright (remember budget).
The exterior property is nicely designed with a very homey look. The pool area was nice and they also had a side lot with volleball and a garden.
The staff was very friendly and courteous.
For the same driving through Gainesville stop, I would recommend and return to Howard Johnson's Express Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoutdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Howard Johnson, this is the first time having someone treat me with respect. I was expecting a lot worse and I was surprised by how the manager was very professional and curtious. I look foward to going back there in september for a weekend stay.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor it was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelstar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#27 of 44 in Gainesville
1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#26 of 44 in Gainesville
125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 44 in Gainesville
560 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing