We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet, comfortable room at a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Tamarac, Florida
1 review
“Clean, quiet, comfortable room at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I was looking for a quiet, clean room at an affordable price and that's exactly what I got. The bed was very comfortable. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. I have paid a lot more for a lot less at other hotels.

Room Tip: I asked the night desk person for a quiet room and that's exactly what I got
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    138
    78
    35
    17
See reviews for
142
64
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Good place to stay, room was clean, very comfortable bed. Kirsten at the desk was very helpful when we checked in, not sure if the night guy actually spoke english, he nodded his head alot. Nice hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Chuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This room was disgusting. Smelled like mold, and cigarettes. Went back in to get a refund and staff refused to give a full refund after we were only there for 5 minutes. We had to argue with them to refund us and they still ended up charging us 20.00 for the 5 minutes we were there. Please do not waste your time or money here. This was the worse experience I have ever had a hotel. Totally disrespectful staff. As I am dealing with a medical emergency and did not need this type of treatment they gave us. Horrible is the nicest way I can put it without cursing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motors1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
This guest requested a smoking room. This guest was even shown the rooms prior to checking in. After an hour or more the guest returns to the front desk and demands a full refund. Though upon check in the guest signed the room agreement and check-in form that clearly states after ten minutes you will be charged a full nights rent regardless of how long you then stay in the room afterwords. The guest was unhappy and management offered for the guest to move to a different room. The guest refuses the offer and again demands a full refund. The hotel staff did all they could to accommodate this guest but to no avail. All guests are allowed to relocate to another room if their room for any reason is unsatisfactory, and after 10 minutes or less in any one of these rooms, if an acceptable location is still not accepted by the guest, the guest is entitled to a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful.The hotel was easy to get too. The room was clean and very nice. There was a microwave,refrigerator and coffee maker with a hair dryer also. My stay was enjoyable and we will stay there again when we are in Gainesville.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowbird050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

The room we had was clean and comfortable. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure you were happy with your room. The continental breakfast, while a little sparse, at least got you going with coffee, juice, cereal, and a small assortment of packaged bagels, etc. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAYCROSS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

We were not happy with this hotel. We have stayed in Howard Johnson's before and this was a disappointment. There was a hole in the floor between the bed and bathroon. There were black curly hairs in the towels and long black hairs in the tub. If you put your hjand on the shower wall to stel into the tub, it would cave in and make you fall. The TV wouldn't work, so I called management and he finally came up and had to reset the tv, so it would work. Noisy hotel. Sewing kit they offer is a little box of about 8-10 little rolls of thread you can borrow, but have to bring back. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetpea8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patel58, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We apologize for this guests stay, we have since been beautifully remodeled and have replaced the old beds with new ones, we have new bedspreads, new carpet, new room interiors and new exterior of the property as well. This guest has been invited back to experience the NEW Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

I honestly i thought this hotel would be decent. I was told that I could check in after 4pm with no penalty multiple times over the phone. Well, that was false! After getting in the front office, I was told that I would have to leave my credit card with them! Also, there's this paper with SMALL writing/print. What hotel is there that won't allow you to have guests after 8 pm? He called the cops just because of that! But NO elevator, the ONLY ice machine that was there didn't work, and kids shouldn't be helping to serve the guests... The light had to be changed AFTER going into my room, the towel rack wasn't sturday, and I won't choose to stay here anymore, and I recommend anyone else to do the same.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeta1920ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the inconveniences of your stay. We do have a security officer that patrols our grounds to make guests feel at ease, he was not called on your behalf. We are a quiet hotel and we do not allow large parties in the rooms, you are allowed to have guests, but we do charge per guest staying in the room and up to only 5 people. [Only five are allowed in any room due to fire codes]
We do not have an elevator because we are only a two story hotel, there is no need for an elevator, for those who can not climb stairs there is the ground floor.
I apologize about the lights and towel rack; we have been fully remodeled since your stay. Please feel free to come and join us for another night, we would love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#12 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing