We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food - managment not so good”
Review of Bubbaques - CLOSED

Bubbaques
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Howdy! Welcome to BubbaQue's We are a fast Casual, in your Face BBQ Restaurant! Great Food, Quick Service, Our Chain Started in 2008! We hope to see ya round the store! Preciate it!
Restaurant details
Description: Howdy! Welcome to BubbaQue's We are a fast Casual, in your Face BBQ Restaurant! Great Food, Quick Service, Our Chain Started in 2008! We hope to see ya round the store! Preciate it!
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok food - managment not so good”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The food was just average. The big difference in this restaurant is the different kind of barbeque sauces they offer. The sandwich I received was very dry, even when I added in the sauce. We did enjoy the funnel fries they offer. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. However, we were very disappointed with the shift manager. We had a problem with a special offer we had for this establishment. When the shift manager was called over by the cashier, the shift manager said there was nothing she could do and went back to her cellphone conversation - while sitting in the dining area with her feet up on another chair, rather than talking to us about the problem we had. We very obviously did not rate very highly on her priority list. The offer mentioned was made good after we went home and spoke to the offer supplier about the issue.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Booperskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanBellFL, Owner at Bubbaques, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your business we appreciate you coming in! We are under new management and hope you will try us again!

Preciate it!

Ryan Bell

Co-Founder
BubbaQue's, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, FL.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Outstanding chicken pulled pork and burgers. Prices are very good. The sauces are very good, too. Service is hit and miss.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSPKurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanBellFL, Owner at Bubbaques, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your business we appreciate you coming in!

Preciate it!

Ryan Bell

Co-Founder
BubbaQue's, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very rustic inside service very good and very friendly.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very good BBQ had pulled pork ( big ol bubba) very tasty. Will come back when in area. You must try if in area. Good prices

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geewizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanBellFL, Owner at Bubbaques, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your business we appreciate you coming in!

Preciate it!

Ryan Bell

Co-Founder
BubbaQue's, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Scrumptious and Fun”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The ribs at Bubbaques are delicious - maybe the best in town
Not chewy - not disintegrating off the bone - just right
And hardly any fat either
EIGHT sauces on the table - there's something for everyone
The fries were great and the coleslaw fresh
There's a fun atmosphere and a nice feeling of space
You order before you eat but there are also waitresses making sure you have everything you need and are happy happy
We were!
Very very


http://www.bubbaquesbbq.com/

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanBellFL, Owner at Bubbaques, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your business we appreciate you coming in!

Preciate it!

Ryan Bell

Co-Founder
BubbaQue's, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Southern BBQ with atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The newest location of Bubbaque's is in Gainesville, located in Magnolia Parke complex of medical buildings, off NW 39th Ave. I had the pulled pork sandwich and found it to be lean and tasty, though
a bit skimpy, not covering the bread. Sandwiches are served in "Bubba bread", two slices of white
bread drenched in butter, which I did not care for. I much prefer a nice soft warm bun with my bbq.
Next time I will ask if they have an alternate bread or at least not to dip it in butter. A wide selection of
BBQ sauces are available at the table. Coming from NC I prefer the vinegar red sauce, but "Tractor Grease" seems to be their standard sauce. What I liked most about the meal was the broccoli side I ordered. Served steaming hot with a little olive oil and light sprinkling of herbs, it was a generous
serving of florets. Delicious! The unique atmosphere is tongue-in-cheek redneck. The menu is written
in redneck language. Signs are posted directing you to the ordering counter. Wait staff bring the food to your table and refill drinks. I saw several people confused about the process who went to the drink station to refill their own drinks. A children's table shaped like a vehicle takes up a lot of real estate but there was still ample seating for the number of patrons. I will probably eat here again when I am in the immediate area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanBellFL, Owner at Bubbaques, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your business we appreciate you coming in!

Preciate it!

Ryan Bell

Co-Founder
BubbaQue's, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubbaques also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing