We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good but expected better.”
Review of Cody's Original Roadhouse - CLOSED

Cody's Original Roadhouse
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: You'll only need to look around Cody's to see why "Original" is our middle name. You'll enter an era gone by, when things were simpler, more casual and definitely more relaxed. Tubs of roasted peanuts are available throughout for snackin', crackin' or throwin' on the floor. You'll enjoy Cody's fresh cut, flame broiled, USDA prime and choice Steaks, Prime Rib, Rotisserie Chicken, Pork Back Ribs, Fresh, Fresh Fish, Burgers, Fajitas and more. At Cody's, we're proud of our expert cooking skills and we've put the grill front and center for your viewing.All told, Cody's Original Roadhouse is a fun, casual, family friendly Roadhouse that serves "Just Plain Good Food®". You won't go home hungry or broke - you'll just go home happy!
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food good but expected better.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Food was good. Ordered shrimp trio for main entree, was expecting to be better. The coconut shrimp were way over cooked. Salad was very generic. Mostly iceberg lettuce, hardly no tomatoes. Rolls were not served warm. The french onion soup is excellent. Service was also excellent. Probably would not go back. Overall not impressed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gotha, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a very good lunch at Cody's, the Prime rib was excellent. Great staff and plenty of peanuts. We will go back the next time we are in Gainesville

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GothaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's a cool fun place to eat... And yes the food was great!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We had fun eating here it's a cool place they have a lot going on here! Are food was good cooked just the way we like it. And the service was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wish they had one closer to home”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stopped by here for dinner, food was awesome! My wifes ribs were one of the best she's had, meat just fell off the bone. Loved the burger as well. Definitely coming back here next time we're in town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic Roadhouse Food”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Cody's is one of those throw-your-peanut-shells-on-the floor places. It is family friendly with the servers moving from table to table singing Happy Birthday to those celebrating. There was also a guy making creative balloon animals. My burger with blue cheese with onions was OK. The french fries tasted like they had been sitting around for a while but the server happily let me substitute steamed veggies (they were tasty). My friend had the beef rib special and found the ribs quite fatty. The servers were VERY friendly and the manager stopped by to check on us too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelercat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Original Roadhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing