We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cody's Original Roadhouse - CLOSED

Cody's Original Roadhouse
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: You'll only need to look around Cody's to see why "Original" is our middle name. You'll enter an era gone by, when things were simpler, more casual and definitely more relaxed. Tubs of roasted peanuts are available throughout for snackin', crackin' or throwin' on the floor. You'll enjoy Cody's fresh cut, flame broiled, USDA prime and choice Steaks, Prime Rib, Rotisserie Chicken, Pork Back Ribs, Fresh, Fresh Fish, Burgers, Fajitas and more. At Cody's, we're proud of our expert cooking skills and we've put the grill front and center for your viewing.All told, Cody's Original Roadhouse is a fun, casual, family friendly Roadhouse that serves "Just Plain Good Food®". You won't go home hungry or broke - you'll just go home happy!
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Gainesville Cody's is great - good food, good atmosphere and great service! The Manager Laura has made us feel like family - inquiring about our recent trips, new truck, and our pet. The bar tenders, Kelley and Amanda remember us each time we come in and provide excellent service! We love the bottomless salad, great steaks, and inexpensive - TASTEY bar food!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One Of My Favorite Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were at Shands Hospital in Gainesville and Cody's was right up the street. It looked very interesting, so we stopped in. We really loved the place. The food was great, the onion rings are to die for, and the waiters are always there when you need them. What more could you ask for? Oh, yes, Happy Hour! And the prices are quite reasonable. We will keep going back! Now we are going to Tampa Hospital and there is a Cody's in Tampa, which we will definitely visit for lunches and dinners. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LPalmieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good variety and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Went here because a local recommended it and we wanted a place with a variety of menu options plus draft pitchers. Everyone ordered something different to eat and no one was unhappy with their meal. I asked for a salad to be prepared with only certain items and it came exactly as directed. Waiter was excellent...checking on us but not interrupting and allowed us to visit, which was the whole reason for the meal there. Food isn't gourmet....but is the usual bar/pub food of many chains like Chilis, Ruby Tuesday, Carolina Alehouse etc. I would rate it as having a bit wider variety than those places.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank joy28504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you like good food please stay away.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

If what you want is the same junk you get at every other chain restaurant then by all means go there. If you want good food stay away. The steaks are poor quality meat and they don't know how to cook them. Service was typical gainesville student bad. Please don't waste your time and money. There are much better places to eat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatureLover1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Original Roadhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing