We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“urban university”

University of Florida
Ranked #5 of 65 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Billings, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“urban university”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

growing up in the West, living in a Mountain state and either attending or teaching in universities all my adult, U. of F. seemed a rather typical urban university. There were more people, buildings and cars than open, refreshing spaces with grass, trees and plants.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    62
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Noles in Gator land...enjoyed the visit”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I walked the campus on a Saturday. Many students were out & about. We enjoyed seeing the campus & especially the athletic centers. Track, field, & baseball athletes were practicing. Fun to observe. Beautiful brick buildings, cool football stadium, & awesome blue tree walk. Old oaks also spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank jennstar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Gardens, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go Gators!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

First time visit and I really loved the place. I was looking around like a kid in a candy shop. It was much larger than I expected.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pastor_Tim_Wms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go Gators!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful campus in the olde Florida style. My husband and our 2 daughters are alumni and I always enjoy the camaraderie the gators share. Amazing medical facilities that support the southeast. Lots to see on campus and the surrounds. Bat house is a must. Gator games in the swamp are the best!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank casaarcoiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful...”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

In response to Caitlin A. UF is not "terrible" is terrific. Top notch facilities, well maintained campuses and everything a student can ask from his/her Alma Matter. Aside from visiting the Football stadium and the coliseum there are hundreds of things to do at UF. The bat house, lake Alice, lake Walburg, the Museum of natural Science, etc. Don't take my word for it. Visit their website and check it out for yourself. Parking can be a problem, so plan your visit after 4 pm or during the weekends. You'll have no problem finding parking spots. UF is located in Gainesville, a small city full of good restaurants and nice people, ah! And students. Did I mentioned that the student population almost matches the native population of the city? Want to avoid traffic? come visit Gainesville during the summer. No students and some many things to do...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Florida also viewed

 

Been to University of Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing