We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Place for Wine Enthusiast”
Review of Half Cork'd - CLOSED

Half Cork'd
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: "Premium wine, beer and bubbles bar".
lake City, Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Neat Place for Wine Enthusiast”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located right on a corner amid an assortment of other bars & restaurants and just a block down from the Hipp Theater. They have complimentary Valet parking til 11:30 and no they don't mind if you go elsewhere as long as you do pop-in with them at some point. The concept of this place is great. They have a couple dozen assorted wines "on tap". You purchase a card for $5, which is registered and never expires. You then put as much as you want on the card and you simply walk around, decide which wine you would like, insert the card into the dispenser and choose Taste( 1oz.) Half Glass( 3oz.) or Full Glass( 6oz. ). Prices vary greatly depending on the wines. I sampled many by using the Taste feature and they ranged anywhere from $1.45 to $15.00 but the majority at the lower end of that. They also have at least one dispenser I saw that had Bourbon, Vodka & Gin. They have a bar where you may order other types of wine and beer as well as a nice selection of "nibbles"; meat, cheese platters and some warm dip type foods. The staff is great. Friendly and knowledgeable, making you feel comfortable and welcome. If you are in any way a wine enthusiast, curious or just looking for a neat little place to take a few friends, i don't think you would go wrong with this place. P.S>. I myself am not that into wine, my wife is, but I greatly enjoyed this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great addition to Gainesville!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I went over to Half Cork'd last night with another couple and we all were pleasantly surprised. The wind bar features a myriad of computerized machines that dispense a full glass, half glass, or taste of wine. You put money on your card and then simple place your card in the machine and select how much wine you want. This was great! The decor and seating in the wine bar is amazing and has very clean bathrooms. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Addition to Downtown Gainesville!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

How fun, to walk in, grab a glass and get a taste, half, or full glass. Here's your chance to try a rare--and expensive--wine! All you do is buy a card, and replenish it as needed. The rest is up to you--wander around, sample this and that, sit with friends. It's a nice setting, very different from the other bars in the area. Love it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Finally, a decent wine bar in downtown!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I've been here on more than a few occasions and its a wonderful place to go after work, on a date, or for a business function. In addition, they have wine tasting classes and you can book a section of the main room for private events. I love the selection of wines you can taste. The only problem is this place fills up rather quickly, so getting a table or a place to chill out with friends is sometimes a little tricky. Overall, its about time the city have a dedicated wine bar that stays open late too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiianluau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great wine, Upscale bar scene”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a great way to sample many different wines and socialize in an upscale bar scene. It is a little pricey considering the half-glass options typically dispense what I consider a sample. However, once you have your debit card, you can come and go as you please and grab a glass of wine without waiting at the bar or waiting for a table.
I wish they had info about each wine, like they have at many wine shops, so you don't try something that's very dry when you know you don't like dry wines, an explanation of the type of wine, such as what kind of grapes are used, etc. All they list is the year and name.
Overall, it's a fun place to go and I will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Cork'd also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing