We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hole in the ground... what a hole!”

Devil's Millhopper Geological State Park
Ranked #7 of 67 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hole in the ground... what a hole!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Devil's Millhopper is a huge sinkhole. Maybe one of the biggest I've ever seen, certainly the deepest. It is noticeably cooler at the bottom on a hot day, that at the top. The scenery is classic Florida scrub. The sinkhole has a very nice boardwalk to the bottom and the little waterfalls draining into the sink add a touch of magic.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lyonsdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    161
    50
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In the Words of Johnny Cash "I went down, down, down"”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

A Florida sinkhole that when I was young you just slid down the side until you got to the bottom and then searched for spear points and sharks teeth

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank bridgetthedog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Should Go Here Once”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

If you're a regular visitor to Gainesville, I think you should visit here sometimes. As a non-native, I was all excited about seeing a sinkhole, and of course my notions were silly when I saw the reality. I envisioned standing on the edge of a rock precipice, with steps winding down the rocky cliff, but instead, it's a woodsy place with a broad boardwalk and broad steps down. Not much to get excited about, but educational and interesting.

As you walk down, there will be "stopping" places with benches and educational signs. Read the signs on the way UP so you have an excuse to rest. They are worth reading and they help you understand what you're seeing.

Be sure also to read the information in the building at the top. And at the bottom, note that the water disappears down into the ground, to devil's-knows-where.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank GayeofPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central FL
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A good exercise spot.”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

It has everything but a gift shop. $4 per car load is a reasonable fee. Picnic table section where you park your car. Restroom building is a real plus by the parking lot. Your can walk the loop at the top of the sinkhole over and over if you wish plus descend and ascend the wooden stairs into the sinkhole off of the first part of the loop very close to the parking lot. A few benches to sit on by the long staircase in case you don't have the physical capability to do all the 200 plus steps down and up or need a rest after huffing and puffing down and up those steps. Be warned that with all the natural habitat with loads of trees that it is very nippy on cool days if you don't hustle to and fro. I really liked the little signs by the wood's species as you walk. I did notice that they ask you not to take food or liquids into actual location and there are containers to dispose of your no-no items. I disagree with the liquids part as you need to hydrate when exercising and you can be responsible to bring them out with you afterwards. Guess it is a litter situation they are trying to deal with. Quite a few people took their liquid containing bottles with them nevertheless.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetgrits1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“neat”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

It is a nice little nature hike. You may get lucky and see some deer.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank menmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Millhopper Geological State Park also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Millhopper Geological State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing