We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utter disappointment.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Utter disappointment.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Booked our room on choicehotels.com using my cousins friends & family discount (she is a Choice hotel employee in CA), then was told upon check-in that we couldn't use the discount and was forced to pay full price, so we could only afford to stay for 1 night instead of the 2 we had reserved. We then had to wait 45 minutes for the room so that they could clean it, despite the fact that we arrived nearly an hour after check-in started. Went shopping at Publix across the road for some food to keep in the room, fortunately we didn't buy many perishable items because our room had NO mini-fridge or microwave (the website said all rooms have both) and we had to use our ice bucket to keep the yogurt we bought cold. The TV buttons were all busted off, the bedspread had cigarette hole burns in it (I know we booked a smoking room, but come on...), the lobby was hotter than hell. The breakfast was actually tasty, but kind of slim pickins; muffins, toast, Raisin Bran (the only cereal offered), and a machine with apple/orange juices and coffee. Overall, I was VERY excited about a little getaway with my sweetie, and while we enjoyed the time together, the hotel was a huge disappointment. We will definitely NOT be staying here again and will never book in any Rodeway Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    11
    5
    22
See reviews for
9
9
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice clean place to stay. It is good for a budget stay and the rooms were bigger than the quality in next door. The breakfast well just say its coffee although there are a few round things that are supposed to be donuts and some type of cereal and nothing else what u save on the room go buy breakfast some where rooms were clean had a sleep sofa. I had always stayed at the quality passing this place up, since i am in the area often i will be staying here again

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wrecktek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Was leery of staying because of past reviews and photos. Room was clean and neat. No bugs to be found. Apparantly place was cleaned up after 2012 advisors. Price is right and location is right on. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Book in advance Was full on night we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB R, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Bob Rawal
General Manager
Rodeway Inn, Gainesville
(352) 378-9240
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The major plus - You can usually get a room for 1 night at a decent price for a football game. Other than that, I wouldn't recommend staying here. Can get much better room elsewhere. During our 1 night stay, killed 5 roaches in the bathroom. There were fleas in the grassy strip in front of our room. Marginally clean; blanket and bedspread had holes in them; very dated decor. Curtains didn't close all the way. TV remote didn't work- turned on/off but didn't Chang channels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearwoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here as an extended stay for 3 very long weeks. Quoted price by phone when got there given $50 higher quote because of people and 3 month old puppy. All explained prior but nevertheless. 1st day exchange towels and told go across to quality inn have 2 go over there and walk 2 laundry where inventory of towels was done. Same amount has to be exchanged only amount of people in room no extras. Then told I could take my trash to dumpsters only get once a week cleaning on day you check in. Next incident was we have puppy on harness and leash and sit @ what I thought was public picnic table and was told by owner btw that interrupted my tanning to take my dog and walk him by dumpsters since his other relatives who are housekeppers want to come out and worship the tree and are terrified of all dogs. Nvr mind we paid pet fee. Other people who stayed there had 2 dogs with no leashes that played in traffic daily. Then the issue of the grass which was knee high and asked for week and half to cut puppy was bringing fleas in the room. Maintenance guy who NEVER bathes and has maybe 8 teeth total prob because of his habit didn't know when they could cut it. The list is never ending here but honestly if you have to come to gainsville to work it does have a decent weekly rate but it honestly is completely ridiculous from the owner harassing you about everything to having no respect for women due to their culture to drug dealers making deliveries like a damn pizza service that this truly is no place for a family or anybody with a pet or a temper. I promise you that you will want to punch the owner in the face just like I did on a daily basis. I just didn't want somebody else to be sucked into this godforsaken hell hole like we did.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This "lodging complex" consists of a Rodeway Inn and Quality Inn apparently owned and operated by the same family.

There is not much I can add to the title of this review and the other recent reviews of this set of two disgusting motels. See "Myria E" and "George S" for more details.

The rooms are cheaply furnished, dirty, and in disrepair. The owner/managers (at least the older Indian (?) couple) are unfriendly and discourteous at least by American standards.

Do yourself a favor and stay at the nearest homeless shelter - i am sure it will be more comfortable and sanitary than this dump.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Interstate, so choose one of the many rooms with a really loud air conditioner th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Roaches, putrid smell in the bathroom, nasty maintenance man, continental breakfast was pre-wrapped honey buns. Manager does not care about the complaints and is NOT interested in making things better, he just said he would refund the charge and then hung up on me! I was only half way through my list of complaints for the ONE NIGHT stay I had!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MYRIA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#32 of 45 in Gainesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 3459 SW Williston Road, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing