We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Class for this area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Class for this area”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This hotel is rated appropriately as a 2-star. That being said, we found it clean and well maintained. We live in Gainesville and our home's A/C went out right at the end of school, so we had to find a place to spend a few nights. That was all we needed, so it was tough to justify spending $100+/night at a surrounding 3-star suite type hotel knowing that our experience has been that they don't even measure up to that standard here. At $51/night after taxes, Red Roof was a good fit. Definitely in a convenient location, and in a safer/nicer spot than the other hotels in its class, which are south of Archer.

The pool was nice, parking is adequate, and the coffee in the lobby was always on. The rooms, beds, and bathrooms match the stars. Desk staff was courteous and pleasant and there were no issues with reservations or billing even though we modified our stay length twice. No worries about a greedy rip-off or screw-job here.

I would also recommend it as a crash pad on game weekends or whenever the 3-star hotels are full, but not for any kind of extended stay or as a relaxing oasis during a road trip. Adequate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toowordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    168
    73
    18
    18
See reviews for
212
112
60
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife and I with our Dachshund stayed 2 nights while visiting relatives in the Gainesville area. This was our first time to stay at Red Roof Inn. The Customer Service was EXCELLENT from check-in to check-out. The property is easy to locate off of I-75 and there are plenty of resturants very close. The property was clean and well maintained...the room was clean...Beds were comfortable.....and we enjoyed the pool. This is an excellent pet-friendly hotel that we will stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This hotel is not rated appropriate. Found this hotel on priceline. Was only a 2 star. but, on the guest review, this hotel had good reviews, that's why I choose this one. After our stay, we decided to post a review so others could see that this hotel is a great place to stay. My only suggestion is, add a little breakfast bar.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Boogie028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Stopped at this hotel on the way to south Fl. The desk clerk was nice and the room was fine---nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. The pool area appeared to be nice, too. There is no breakfast provided, which was fine with us. The only small problem was that there was no waste basket in the room and when I called to let the desk clerk know, she said she would bring one. It never came. I understand she may have been the only person on duty. We were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcnewton50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boynton beach
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

With my children going to UF, I needed a cost-effective place to stay over the last few years. I have noticed continual improvements over this period. If you have an issue, they jump on it.
I would not stay anywhere else. My only suggestion would be an in-room coffee maker. I don't want to get dressed in order to get my first cup from their coffeepots in the lobby!

Try this hotel - you'll be happy you did.!

csg boynton beach, FL

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahlerBoyntonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

My husband and I live in Gainesville and stayed at the Red Roof Inn for 2 nights recently while we were having some tiling done in our house. We picked Red Roof Inn because it is a pet-friendly hotel (we brought our 60-pound mixed breed dog with us) and because the prices are reasonable.

This is a very clean, pleasant hotel with great prices. We chose a "King Suite" (really just a room with a King bed that had a microwave and refrigerator) and paid in the $60-$70 per night range. The desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel felt very safe and secure.We did not find a single negative about this place. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Red Roof Inn, Gainesville, FL was chosen by our dive shop for a 3 night stay in the area during out 'check out' dives in North Florida. As a frequent business traveler, i usually get to stay at "higher end" hotels, so i wasn't expecting much from a Red Roof.

Wow! From the friendly and responsive service at check in, to the cleanliness of the room and the complimentary coffee in the lobby, i was impressed! The hotel is located conveniently next to the interstate (which means it won't be the quietest, or most scenic place you'll ever visit), but the pool area was nice to relax with friends.

Lots of convenient restaurants nearby, shopping and a grocery store. Great value, great staff!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#6 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Property: Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Address: 3500 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2393
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing