We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than most cheaper motels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than most cheaper motels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Better than most inexpensive motels. No breakfast, dogs allowed (and there were quite a few when I was there), cleaning people are hit or miss. It has a pool, it's been recently renovated. Don't know why, but the rooms feel kind of sterile -- maybe because of the lack of artwork on the walls. Very friendly front-office staff. For the price, it was better than most econo motels, but if I go to the area again, I'll spend the extra $10-15 a night to get the breakfast, a bit more homey room, and a pet-free motel. That said, the location was great: right off I-75, near a few restaurants, and able to reach UF on side streets to avoid the traffic snarls on Archer.

Room Tip: Seemed like the dogs were mainly relegated to the first floor, so if you're not a pet person, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggy123Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear froggy123Michigan,

Thank you so much for your candid review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate you sharing your experience and recognizing our friendly staff. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    167
    71
    17
    17
See reviews for
210
109
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ALABAMA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel was highly rated against other hotels in the area, and it was clean and comfortable, BUT if I could have stayed elsewhere I would have. I have the following problems with all Red Roofs, even using a coupon or senior rate they are still more expensive than other brands we have used and you just get a room and a bed period! They are just as "bare bones" as Motel 6 only with larger rooms and higher prices. No breakfast of any kind, and the rooms that do have fridge & micro are $20+ more per night!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMESD843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear JAMESD843,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so glad to have an opportunity to serve you. Providing the best value and cleanest room is our daily mission. We will continuously work harder to improve. Thanks again for sharing and hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Euihee Prekler
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, clean and comfortable rooms, very professional staff, pet friendly, great location with restaurants and gas stations near hotel. Safe and quite place. Will recommend to anyone either traveling on business or pleasure. Easy access from highway.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Miguel V,

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It is always wonderful to hear a positive feedback. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with others and hope to serve you again in near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at this Red Roof because it was a football weekend at UF and the hotels all raise their rates for the games. The Red Roof inflated their normal weekend rate also but it still came in under almost everybody else. It is a newly refurbished property. The room was nicely laid out. I liked the "hardwood" floors with the rug just around the perimeter of the bed. Everything worked including the wifi. The bathroom is set up well and the shower was great. Even though we were near the ice machine we could not hear it. We spent two comfortable nights. There is no breakfast but that is standard and should be expected if you stay at a Red Roof. Coffee was available at all times (bigger cups please) and there were breakfast options nearby. Overall this is a very nice place. The price brought us here but the quality will bring us back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkrchrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear pkrchrds,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so happy to hear your positive review. Reviews like yours always give us extra motivation to do a better job. We hope to serve you again in near future.
Sincerely,
Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Thank you Alexis for one of the happiest and warmest receptions given a tired traveler. Thank you as well to Enihee the manager of this establishment for her warm and hospitable treatment.
The room was a complete surprise. Super well designed, clean, and with everything impeccably organized and everything working!
The price was definitely affordable as well.
The Hiltons of this world would do well to note that they have a major competitor for this type of business.
You also cannot beat their policy of not penalizing the traveller with cancellation. If you show that's wonderful, but if you don't you still do not get charged. I applaud their integrity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear P s,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We truly appreciate your kind words you have shared regarding our facility and staff. It is wonderful to know that we have exceeded your expectation. Reviews like yours always give us extra motivation to do better job. We hope to serve you again in near future.
Sincerely,
Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The staff was friendly; one person even tried hard to help my husband when his iPad froze in our room. I appreciated the coffee and tea always available to guests.

I was surprised, though, at all the things Red Roof didn't provide, that I've come to expect at this kind of motel near a major highway -- such as newspapers, any kind of exercise room, refrigerator or microwave in the room. Continental breakfast isn't offered, either, and there's no adjacent restaurant. A five- or ten-minute walk brings you to McDonald's and a pancake-type sit-down restaurant. A shopping center with a Publix supermarket is nearby, too. We weren't interested in driving to any of those in the morning, and opted to buy large muffins at the Cracker Barrel across I75 the night before, and simply had them with coffee out by the pool in the morning. Without a refrigerator in the room, we couldn't even get yogurt or OJ to store overnight.

Obviously the high priority in a hotel is a clean, comfortable room -- which we certainly had, at a very reasonable rate. Red Roof, like all the other nearby hotels, is right off I75, so there's no place nearby where you'd want to take a walk. But I felt like there was no value-added here and nothing that made us feel especially welcome.

Room Tip: Although it's right by the highway, traffic noise was very subdued in the room. Sitting at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Carly5,

Thank you for sharing your experience and giving us an opportunity to serve you. Providing the cleanest room and the best value in our market are our on-going efforts. We are so glad to hear that you have recognized our efforts. We appreciate your candid review and hope to have
another chance to serve you in the future!

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a great hotel...newly refurbished to top quality...modern and very very clean and comfortable. First class. Pet friendly...dog bones at the desk! Staff smiling and helpful. We always stay here when we go to Gainesville. Staff really friendly and helpful. Monica even made copies of some important papers for me. No breakfast, but coffee is in the lobby and there are a million places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodlebug22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear doodlebug22222,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and being a loyal customer to Red roof inn. We are so happy to hear that you have received the first class service. Providing the best value and the cleanest room are our ongoing efforts. Monica and the rest of our team are looking forward to serving you again in near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Property: Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing