We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A familiar refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed December 18, 2009

On the "from" portion of our 6-day, to-from roundtrip Miami-Atlanta drive, we booked the HI Express as a refuge from bad driving conditions, terrible, rainy weather and a generally blah week of travel. It did not fail to please. Bouyant staff, lovely comfortable room and a good breakfast to get us off the next day. We've kind of developed a relationship with HI Express -- we know what to expect and are comforted when they deliver -- whch they generally do. Lo-o-ve their pillows! While my husband took to the bed with a bad head cold the minute we arrived, I sat in the lobby with my netbook, keeping occupied and surveying the business minutia of being in the hospitality business... A burned-out light in a chandelier was quickly taken care of; incoming guests -- with or without reservations, were greeted warmly. And so on, and so on. A lovely staff lady oversaw the breakfast area in the morning, and discussed the headlines in that day's USA Today. This hotel had a terrific, friendly and accomodating staff!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 293 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2009

We stayed there with a bunch of high school students and the rooms were very nice and comfy beds. Great breakfast in the morning!! Pets accepted. Very nice staff. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maws52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed here while my dad had major surgery at University of Florida hospital. This hotel gave us a hospital discount. The room was very clean and the staff was very nice. Concerned about the outcome of the surgery. Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countdowntovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The location:
It's right off of I75, no more than 5 minutes off the exit. There is another hotel and a family restaurant in the immediate vicinity. A longer walk away, there's a McDonald's and a small mall and a target. This is pretty handy if you're coming in from out of town, so you can grab stuff you need.
With a rental car, it was surprisingly easy to get to the center of town and pretty much anywhere in there area I needed to go. It's on Archer, so would probably be convenient for people needing to go to the medical center.
The room:
I was pleased with the room. It was clean with new looking appointments and nice bathroom amenities. The shower had one of those shower curtain rods that curved outwards, giving you the illusion of more space in the shower---a nice touch. Everything was spotless, especially the bathroom which is important. Being that the hotel is off the highway, the view wasn't exactly Ansel Adam's material but that wasn't all that important. I had concerns about noise because it was a Gator's game weekend, but I think most of the Gators fans staying there were families and older sports fans so it was not loud at all.

They had a complimentary continental breakfast was no frills.
Parking was ample.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
Thank saltyjello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

There was a good size and well maintained room. The staff were very friendly. The location was quiet but a bit far from everything. All in all good for a business traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BtravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed for one night in late December. When you enter the hotel there is a fusty smell. Reception staff are quite friendly. The internet facility is extremly slow and needs to be upgraded. Next door within walking distance is the cracker barrell resturant.

The breakfast next morning is very poor.......completly dried up and very badly laid out. One last thing for only 4 floors the lift takes about 5 to 10 minute wait.

Overall not very impressive.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bridthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Expectations for a Holiday Inn Express are what they are...mid-range accomodations for a reasonable price. This property fully delivers on all the counts they generally and specifically advertise. We had just come from a Ritz Carlton in Orlando and must say, this spot was not the least bit a disappointment. They have quite a solid little operation going. There is not one area to be faulted. Everything is in excellent condition, it is a very convenient location, the included breakfast should satisfy everyone, the rooms are completely comfortable and have the desired amenities. The high definition tvs are an added plus.

What does surprise is the absolutely outstanding service of the staff. Across any number of employees, the courtesy, the sincere friendliness, and the generous helpfulness they extend must be experienced to be believed. Others in the travel industry should only be so lucky to have people this good! What a thoroughly nice difference it makes!! Stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#12 of 47 in Gainesville
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
696 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Address: 3905 SW 43rd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2217 (Formerly Baymont Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $114 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION, Holiday Inn Express I-75 Gainesville, FL Hotel's Staff Welcomes You. Just off I-75, the Holiday Inn Express, Gainesville / I-75 SW hotel puts you in the heart of Gator country, half-way between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks and 2 hours from Tampa's cruise ship hub. This pet friendly Gainesville, Florida hotel's location is extremely convenient for corporate and leisure travelers. The hotel is near the University of Florida, Shands Hospital at UF and the offices of Nationwide Insurance and Farm Bureau Insurance. For travelers with interests further away, Gainesville Regional Airport (GNV) is just 20 minutes away and for other major cities guests just hop onto the interstate via exit 384 which is right behind the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/i-75 Sw Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing