We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time & a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have stayed at Holiday Inns before but not an Express. This was the best hotel. A friend and I were on an overnight for the Still Stitching with Susan Christmas Party in Trenton, west of Gainesville. My friend had stayed there before and she raved about it. It was everything she said and more. Great hot breakfast, eggs and hotcakes, cinnamon buns, etc.; great beds and pillows, very clean room (an executive room, she said). Roomy and cost not much more than a standard one. Hot coffee, ice water and hot water for tea available after hours, too. Beautifully decorated for Christmas; tree, Santas, vintage hutch....lobby so inviting.
We are coming back for another
Still Stitching event in January and the reservation is already made.
Close to I75 but not disruptive, lots of restaurants and shops within short drive...and UF is a couple miles away.
.

Room Tip: If you want cold water for later at night, get it in the lobby in coffee cup with lid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450oldcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 290 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have never heard of such ridiculous hotel policies!!! Especially ones in which hotel employees are not allowed to use their decision making skills to assist with providing great customer service. Customers needs should come first. Due to unexpected reasons I had to stay in Gainesville, FL. I have always liked staying at Holiday Inn Express hotels until yesterday, November 21st. I arrived at the hotel with cash for my room as I didn't have a credit card with me. I was told that I needed a credit card for a $10 incidential hold. I offered to provide the $10 in cash and I could get it back at checkout. I was told I needed a credit card for a $10 hold to cover damages to room. First of all $10 will not cover damages to a room. Secondly, if you hold $10 on a card it isn't a guarantee you will have access to more funds if there are damages to the room. This is the most ridiculous policy I have ever heard of for a hotel. I was told that it was this particular locations policy by the corporate HIE office when I called to file a complaint. I had to leave and purchase a gift card just to stafisfy this facilities request as my belongings were already in the room. They even locked the door to prevent me from re-entering the room as if I were a thief. RIDICULOUS! ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!!. I have stayed at 5 star hotels which accepts cash deposits and returned the deposits at check-out. I say once again all this trouble for $10. $10????? REALLY?? I actually left the hotel the next day and checked into the hotel next to it. Not only did the hotel next to this one accomodate me but obviously after seeing that I had been at one of the hospitals gave me a good rate and made sure I was very comfortable and checked on me once I was in my room. The hotel next to this one has a credit card deposit policy of $20 but the staff made the decision to not take a deposit from me at all. What is sad is that the security staff at HIE assisted me to my room by wheel chair and he apologized for the inconvenience. I will not EVER stay at this facility again! Oh, needless to say, I spoke with the manager the next morning and stated to him that it appears customer service isn't a primary focus at his establishment. I explained to him that policies are great but when you see it isn't accomodating your guest in a positve way it is time to possibly revamp the policy. To lose $100 for a $10 credit card policy isn't good business sense. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JShaw_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I arrived well after midnight on an unexpected trip. They were courteous and helpful. I had a huge, clean, recently refurbished room with a really comfortable bed all ready to go with no notice. It was a convenient location and a good value compared to other places I have stayed there. I would definitely go back and highly recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank LHH_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Quietly tucked among the tall pines just off of I-75 (exit 384, SW Archer Rd) is this clean and convenient property. The room was clean and comfortable. We did have a slight problem with a musty odor in our room. However, housekeeping immediately responded to our request and sent a staff member to our room to address the odor. The front desk staff was friendly and attentive. The complimentary breakfast had a wide variety to select from and was always clean and well stocked. This seems to be a popular hotel for Gator alumni as it was booked completely full for homecoming weekend. It's a family friendly hotel convenient to many local restaurants, familiar national chains, shopping and UF Shands Medical Center.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are usually quieter. Conveniently located to University of Florida campus a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trtzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The bed was extremely hard, and while they provided a "soft" and "firm" pillow, both were actually "noticeably full of cotton balls." On top of that, I spent all night feeling as if bugs were jumping onto me. Breakfast was good, but next time we will pay the extra money to stay in a room that is actually comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isanc012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We picked this jhotel because we have been staying at other Holiday Inn Express in the past and have always been pleased. Well this particle one one blew us away. The room was beatiful and comfortable. It was well appionted and just a great place to relax after a 14 hour drive. Within walking distance were resturaunts and some shopping, although we did not shop we were just looking for a good meal. The room was verycomfortable with two king size beds with large pillows and pillowtop matresses. With the refridgerator and microwave and in room coffee. we were set to unwind. The complimetry breakfast was great with and nice array of choices. As we will be traveling down to florida a few times every year we will make this a regular stoip in travels.

Room Tip: the room we got was on the 4 th floor and it was quiet and well appoited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRJAMMERZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is below average in room and air quality and we have been in 2 different rooms and both smelled of mold/mildew. We can't wait to check out. Everything else is just average at the hotel and there is not an inviting ambience. Staff is neutral and were not apologetic about the smell in the rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bwdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear bwdw,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 47 in Gainesville
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Address: 3905 SW 43rd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2217 (Formerly Baymont Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $112 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION, Holiday Inn Express I-75 Gainesville, FL Hotel's Staff Welcomes You. Just off I-75, the Holiday Inn Express, Gainesville / I-75 SW hotel puts you in the heart of Gator country, half-way between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks and 2 hours from Tampa's cruise ship hub. This pet friendly Gainesville, Florida hotel's location is extremely convenient for corporate and leisure travelers. The hotel is near the University of Florida, Shands Hospital at UF and the offices of Nationwide Insurance and Farm Bureau Insurance. For travelers with interests further away, Gainesville Regional Airport (GNV) is just 20 minutes away and for other major cities guests just hop onto the interstate via exit 384 which is right behind the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/i-75 Sw Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing