We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Lawrenceville, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Place to stay..overall clean, rooms decorated nicely. The staff is friendly. I don't know about breakfast as we just got in our room. Cracker Barrell next door is handy. This is a good place to stay over night on your travels. My only complaint is the smell of cigarette smoke when you come in the hotel. I am an ex-smoker and don't mind the smell of smoke but stale old smoke is not a pleasant greeting.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jamiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    39
    17
    27
See reviews for
88
60
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I usually stay at Holiday Inn's on my way to and from South Florida. This is possibly the worst I've experienced. Musty smell in room. TV only worked after swiveling set and plugging jack back in. Toilet kept running. Lifting the lid to the cistern revealed a thick layer of mold. Bathroom shower curtain reeked. If the wind is blowing across the garbage bin at the next door Cracker Barrel the smell is revolting. Stay away from this overpriced dump.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bardian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear bardian68,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the smell and the room amenities. I understand the inconvenience this has caused you. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

fkennedy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

we stayed here one night and i would not hesitate to go back, very friendly staff and clean room, what more could you ask for

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We’ve have stayed here a couple times when visiting our son at the University; it is by far the best hotel we’ve stayed at in Gainesville. The pool area is clean and well maintained, the rooms are perfect, oversized and very well maintained. The breakfast is very plentiful and always clean and well organized and the staff is very professional and pleasant – we just love this hotel!

Room Tip: Every room is equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BakerCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Like many parents, we went up to move our child out of her dorm. It also happened to be Graduation weekend and Gainesville Hotels were sold out. I felt pretty lucky to get a room at a okay rate for the weekend. I did have to take a double room instead of a King to get the okay rate as they added extra charges to book a King.

Since I am a Priority Club Member I had asked for a quite room away from the Highway. I was given room 301 which overlooks the highway but the desk girl told me the road noise would be minimal. I should have known right then since there were two people ahead of me fighting to switch out their rooms what I was in for.

The room it self was very average in appearance and everything seemed clean. It was the bathroom that was the horror.

I went in to the bathroom, which has the toilet and shower together with the sink out in the main room and looked into the shower at what looked like to me to be a puddle of vomit in the white tub. Well upon closer inspection it was rust spots that had formed a big puddle shape because there was no enamel left on the tub in that section. I went to move the shower curtain back in place but we realized the shower rod was falling out of the wall and the shower curtain was torn. I pulled a towel off the rack and noticed it too was rusty and was starting to come out of the wall ( Now remember there are no Hotel rooms left in Gainesville at this point)

So we decided to just tough it out as it was at least clean. We did end up with water all over the floor after our showers and a puddle of water formed in the tub and stayed right in the same spot as the rust (which explains the rust) since the shower was poorly sloped.

The other thing about this hotel room is the ac in the room turns all the way off when it cycles and then comes back on with a loud noise which woke me up every time. It didn't matter what setting you used it was all the same. So the desk girl was right, who could hear the road noise with the ac turning on and off all night.

The Hotel does have free WIFI, Parking and an Okay hot breakfast but my other complaint is they put the smoking rooms on the first floor and the whole hallway reeked of cigarettes as you are walking to get your breakfast, yum. ( We took the stairs since the elevator is sooo slow)


When we went to check out, we had filled out a comment card with all of these problems and handed it to the girl on duty. She looked at it and asked did you get a bill under your door? I said no and she looked at our room and said okay you prepaid, all set. Have a good day.

This will be a last resort hotel as I said it is at least clean and the location is good.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room not on the highway they might honor your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sflgatormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear sflgatormom,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The coupon I had was dismissed out of hand....I understand that there is an availability clause, but a little bit of tact could have been used. We stayed because of previous Holiday Inn Express experiences. Not sure if we got the senior rate and they never asked for my priority club card. Got a room on the fourth floor, took some luggage up and then went for supper. By the time we got back, the elevator was out of service..."repairman on his way should be fixed in a couple of hours". So up the stairs we went .....we're seniors and I have a heart condition, so it was a bit of a struggle with the last of our luggage. At 9:30pm I phoned the front desk to see if the elevator was fixed and was told that it would be out of order until a part could be obtained...a couple of days. If we wanted to find another hotel tonight, they wouldn't charge us for the room.....kind of late to start looking for a new hotel. So, most of the complimentary services that they bragged about....such as coffee and cookies or computer use, etc were on the main floor, and not worth the effort of climbing back up the stairs. We did get one girl to help us down the stairs with some luggage the next morning. At the front desk the women working there seemed more concerned with each other than us checking out and seemed upset that we paid cash rather than on our credit card. No apology for the elevator, no discount, no thank you for staying.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Jim W,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry for the inconvenience the elevator outage caused. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in Gainsviile, less than two hours from Orlando, for the night prior to our rental house being available outside of Orlando. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located just off the 384 exit ramp and next door to a Cracker Barrel.
The staff is super nice and helpful and the hotel is very nice. There is a nice size outdoor, heated swimming pool and a fitness center adjacent to the pool. The Holiday Inn Express hotels always offer a breakfast buffet including eggs, sausage patties, biscuits and gravy, cereals, yogurt, breakfast breads, coffee, juices etc.
Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFinkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#12 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
Address: 3905 SW 43rd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2217 (Formerly Baymont Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy and charming Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gainesville, Florida is centrally located between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks. Just two miles from the University of Florida, home of the Florida Gators. This charming property is conveniently located off Interstate 75 Exit 384. Special in room amenities include free high speed internet, ceiling fans, free local calls, and fresh baked cookies every Monday through Thursday evening. BUSINESS: Nationwide Insurance, Farm Bureau Insurance, Gainesville Regional Airport HOSPITALS: Shands Hospital, Veteran Administration Medical Center, North Florida Regional Medical Center UNIVERSITIES: University of Florida, Santa Fe Community College Local Attractions are Kanapaha Botanical Gardens, Butterfly Museum, Payne s Prairie Reserve, Hippodrome Theatre, Haile Plantation Golf Course, and Gainesville Raceway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/i-75 Sw Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing