We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what you should expect when you book any hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is what you should expect when you book any hotel!”
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This hotel stay was just what you always hope for. The hotel and room were clean and well maintained. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axemakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    118
    43
    10
    12
See reviews for
162
111
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I had stayed here last April for Spring Break '09 and I absolutely loved it. The staff was very friendly and had helped us with our stay. The breakfast was great :) Pool side, great too. Everything about this hotel was great. One thing I'd like to thank the hotel is the man who had made the fresh cookies everyday at 5. Very nice, and we're coming back this year for Spring Break of '10. Thanks again, everyone at The Comfort Inn in Gainesville, FL,

Madison
02/21/10

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guanadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Definitely a hidden gem at just $61 a night. My friend had wanted to stay at the other Comfort Inn she was familiar with, but we were both delightfully pleased when we arrived at this one and it was even cleaner than the other one.

I found this hotel through Tripadvisor and I can see why it was ranked #6 out of 44 hotels in Gainesville. Very friendly staff, very nice clean rooms, and even includes a kitchenette complete with microwave and fridge. Nice! They also have a computer in the lobby so you can book on http://hotels.com and get some discounts on your reservation. Hehehe.

It's a bit out of the way from the nightlife in downtown, but its close enough to campus. And a short trip on I-75 brings the mall within close reach, too.

Only cons were the shower floor was a tad dingy and they didn't have bandaids (my friend had a freak accident with the zipper on her makeup case ripping off 2 layers of skin!). I'd stay again, but next time I'll pack bandaids.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJulicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We were greeted by a friendly staff member, very welcome arriving blurry eyed in the middle of the night, and slept great here. Rooms were very quiet, and the beds remarkably comfortable, although like I said, we were rather tired. Seemed to be a lot of good options at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurascudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne floida
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2009

The staff was very kind and helpful. The beds were awsome,
I am a picky about beds. Some school teams were there and
it was frustrating to get to the food for our breakfast. I don't
know why they let so many kids stay there. It is inconvient for the
guests sometimes.

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — Bad room smelled like urine really bad
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Martha075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,IN
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stopped here on our way to Sanibel Island and it made a nice day's drive next day to get there at check-in time. Our original room was supposed to be non-smoking and I believe it was but the hallway reeked of cigarette smoke and it eventually was very noticeable in the room. The desk clerk, Brad(he gets a gold star), was very accomodating in moving us to another floor. The room was more spacious than the one we had. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was spacious. Nice place to stay.

  • Liked — Large room with comfy bed.
  • Disliked — Stale smoke smell in the hall on the top floor.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732MPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, fl
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

When staying at this hotel, one must take the good with the bad. The good things about the hotel are that it has a good continental breakfast and was convenient. However, the one bedroom suite had a "queen sofa sleeper" in it and it absolutely was not enough room for two teenagers. There was no way it was a queen bed. My son slept on the floor after two hours of trying to fall asleep in the bed. Also, we went through three rooms and they all smelled of smoke, in a non-smoking room. The front desk staff was accommodating and changed the room with no problem. Finally, we ended up in "The Carter Suite(210)" and it was decent. We did have a weird smell in the room, but it wasn't too bad. Also, being right next to the elevator in a busy hotel, you could hear it every time it went up or down in the bedroom. Make sure you get a room on the street side of the hotel, not the highway because it is very noisy. Lastly, on check out day, the elevator was not running correctly and was very slow. The bell kept going off as people got stuck in it. This created a major inconvenience for those checking out on the fourth floor. Overall, the hotel was okay, I may stay again.

  • Liked — clean, large room
  • Disliked — noise and uncomftable bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goldstein2749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
Dear Goldstein Family,

I want to apologize for the events that occurred during your stay with us on August 16, 2008. We consistently strive to offer each and every one of our guests the highest level of service, and atmosphere conducive to the expectations you deserve. We certainly do not like to hear when our guests have a less than satisfactory stay, and understand that these irregularities can be very upsetting.

Once more, our apologies for your unfavorable experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Comfort Inn West to replace the negative impression with a positive one!


Sincerely,

Jennifer Curfman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3440 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the newly renovated Comfort Inn, located conveniently near I-75 & Archer Road (Exit 384)- this premier location provides quick access to the University of Florida, UF Health & Shands, VA Hospital, Shopping and Restaurants. Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, free internet, pet friendly designated rooms, and complimentary shuttle service for your convenience. The modern amenities and service will make your visit to Gainesville a great experience whether you are visiting family, the award winning healthcare facilities, attending sporting events and the many reasons that bring you to Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing