We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
orlando
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good price”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed for one night in July while visiting UF, paying around $90 (advance booking). The hotel was about 10-12 minutes from the University, near a Target and other shopping and chain restaurants. I found the hotel to be very clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room was right next to the highway but I wasn't bothered by the noise, others might need to request a room not on the interstate side. Access was from the interior only and felt safe. The breakfast was adequate, the staff were friendly and efficient. The facilities are aging but clean. We will be repeat visitors over the next four years. Go Gators!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    119
    45
    10
    12
See reviews for
164
111
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lilburn, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Gainesville for nearby church program. We typically stay at Comfort Inns or other Choice Hotels. we stayed four nights. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable with a king size bed and costs were reasonable for being close to I-75 and downtown Gainesville. The room amenities were nice with a small kitchen sink along with the fridge and microwave. The room carpet was fairly updated. The bathroom could use some minor touch ups, but was adequate. WiFi worked well when we needed internet access. The AC functioned well by the window with a digital thermostat to easily set the desired room temperature. We had a room that faced the front of the hotel and away from I-75. It was quiet for the most part. The morning breakfast was typical With scrambled eggs, sausage, waffle machine, breads, yogurt and cereals. Fruit was available, but could have been a little fresher for bananas. It was tasty overall.
We would stay here again if passing through.

Room Tip: Choose room at front of hotel facing east if you want to avoid any I-75 road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCC-Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had an emergency at home, had water in my home and no AC . I needed a pet friendly, local hotel. I called several and they charged $25 and up to bring a pet. I finally called the Comfort Inn in Gainesville, Florida. I had a room, king size bed, clean and a full breakfast menu every day. Tiffany was so nice and accommodating when I called. The rates were the best and the room and amenities were great! If you are staying overnight in Gainesville I would highly recommend the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in June. Upon arriving very early in the day I took a chance to see if we could check in since we would be at the hospital for the remainder of the day. The desk clerk was very friendly and understanding. He said "sure" where you would you like to have your room. I said the quietest possible and that is exactly what we got! The room was ready and clean. The decor was up to date and the bedding was comfortable. The breakfast was ample and hot. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stay here each time we come to Gainesville. During Gator baseball season that adds up quickly. We enjoy the staff, Ariana and Andrew are usually on when we arrive. They treat us like extended family. During our last visit we pulled into the driveway and Ariana had our room ready by the time I walked into the lobby, including a special request this time for a specific type of room. A all of the staff is friendly and competent. The facility is very well kept and maintained and all of the staff members are focused on customer satisfaction.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Gainesville Florida area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Amazing! We were surprised by the value of this room! Huge king bed with pull out sofa! Refrigerator and microwave of course! Our room was very clean and fresh! Staff was very helpful and had knowledge of the area! Breakfast was great ! Waffles, eggs and toast were on the menu much better than fast food!

We will definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My stay was due to rather not so happy reasons, my mom had been sent to the North Florida hospital, so I had to come to G'ville a bit. I didn't stay at the hotel my first stay but I wish I did. They were amazing, just lovely people. The rooms were very nice and clean, I appreciate that, I've been to a lot of hotels and some not as clean, for the price. I had one room without my pet and the other with and they were both clean and very nice. I once stayed at another hotel were the pet friendly room smelled. Not this 1, it was a bit smaller but it was just as nice as the other and it was on the ground floor. Everyone was helpful, even when I had to stay an extra night and get another room for a family member. The breakfast was wonderful, you have to eat the biscuits and gravey....to die for! The pool is small, but very nice and they provided plenty of towels. When I go back I will stay at this hotel, the manger and all the staff down to the housekeeping was wonderful and made my stay so wonderful even under the circumstances. The price was good and fair, there are other hotels near by, very near by, but if you want a stay that you feel safe and comfy and "at home", then you should come to the comfort Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
582 reviews
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 44 in Gainesville
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3440 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the newly renovated Comfort Inn, located conveniently near I-75 & Archer Road (Exit 384)- this premier location provides quick access to the University of Florida, UF Health & Shands, VA Hospital, Shopping and Restaurants. Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, free internet, pet friendly designated rooms, and complimentary shuttle service for your convenience. The modern amenities and service will make your visit to Gainesville a great experience whether you are visiting family, the award winning healthcare facilities, attending sporting events and the many reasons that bring you to Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing