We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn University
Nearby Hotels
$114
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$99
$79
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$126
$99
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Gateway Grand(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$99
$84
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
285
133
47
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
133
47
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskchoice hotelscookiesroom was cleangranola barslemon waterthe breakfast areachecking inhospital ratewaffleshousekeeping staffnice place to staygreat customer servicenext morningminute drivehot breakfastshopping and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 496 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Check-in went well with very friendly employees. They have fresh baked cookies around dinner, but three times I went the plate was empty.

Bringing luggage in is somewhat a challenge for those with rooms on the ends because of the way parking is laid out. The two end entrances are open to card holders, but don't have formal sidewalks up to them. To get from parking to our room required you to drag bags through mulch and around small bushes. The other end of the hotel was closer to the parking lot of the hotel next door. Might consider formal sidewalks to these doors. Front entry way can be used, but parking is limited.

Rooms are very VERY nice for this level hotel. Four pillows per bed was a superb touch. Bed had a comforter, along with a warm blanket. Nice & cozy. Hotel was very quiet (our room was on the non-interstate side).

Room has a microwave and separate hot water maker for the provided tea and coffee. There is a large mini-fridge, bar sink and counter top. The free in-room safe is a great idea.

Bathroom: Amenities included shampoo, skin lotion and two bars of soap. Plenty of fluffy towels. Tub was pretty clean, although drain was rusted out. Wonder why that hadn't been corrected.

Breakfast buffet was great. Both regular & blueberry waffles. Biscuits with sausage gravy. Toaster for bread & bagels. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries, muffins, oatmeal, cereal, bananas. Many drink options. Nice job!

Easy walk to numerous restaurants and the Target shopping center next door.

I have stayed in many, many hotels around Gainesville in the past 20 years and this has become one of my favorites in this price range.

Room Tip: Request room on the non-interstate side.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatorzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

We are glad to hear the Comfort Inn West is one of your favorite hotels in the area. Thank you for your review and your thoughts will be shared at our next management meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stay here every year when we go to Fl. The desk staff is very accomodating and helpful. Andrew was the desk person and was very helpful and friendly.
Rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is above most breakfasts with a lot of
variety. Good location. If you are a light sleeper, ask to have a room in the front.
Will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great staff. Gps coordinate don't take you to the right spot. Glitch in system. Clean, quiet, great shower, lots of hot water

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emunah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Taking the time to give us such a nice review is greatly appreciated here at the Comfort Inn West. We are sorry about the gps problem and hope it was not to much of a problem. We hope to see you again when you travel back our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is an older building, that can use some TLC. The lights were dim in the room, along with dark blanket and comforter. I like white covers in hotels so i can see that it is clean. There were dirty smudges on the wall by the bed, along with mysterious red smears on the ceiling in the bathroom. The water pressure was VERY stong in the shower, which hurt. The top shelf in the fridge (the freezer) was dirty, i put my stuff in a bag and then put it in the freezer. The food was juice at breakfast was NOT good. The make your own waffles were good as any hotel. They only had instant oatmeal and instant grits, the eggs were probably egg substitutes, and they were bland. The cloth chairs were dirty at breakfast. They need to do some cleaning.. and maybe not advertise pictures of pets in the beds! This would not be my first choice of hotel in Gainesville.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our housekeeping department and have been addressed. We also regret to hear about your dissatisfaction in the hot breakfast you experienced and would like to let you know that we have been working hard to make certain our guests receive a breakfast that offers hot, fresh and healthy options. I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Gainesville Comfort Inn after a University of Florida football game.
The hotel is just off I-75 and close to restaurants, shops and the university. There was some road construction that made getting to the hotel harder but not too much of an inconvience.
This is a newer hotel in a safe area of town. Front desk clerk was helpful and an obvious
Gator fan by the U of F jersey he was wearing. Our room was comfortable with a microwave
but just a single cup coffee maker....a personal preferrence, I like a regular 4 cup coffee maker but my wife likes the single. No ice on our 2nd floor had to go to the first to fill the ice bucket. The bed was comfortable and the hotel has free wi-fi. I would recommend the Comfort Inn when staying in Gainesville, Go Gators!

Room Tip: if you like ice...ask for a room on the 1st floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

 We always enjoy hearing from our guests here at the Comfort Inn West! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews