We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danielle Lythgoe: Wicked awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Upon booking my reservation, I had requested a fridge be added to my room as i would be staying an entire week. At the time of check in I was told that my reservation did not include a fridge. Although I was extremely frustrated, I didn't get outwardly angry or complain. A young lady by the name of Danielle noticed that I was disappointed and immediately took steps to rectify the situation. She said that she would hunt up a fridge and have it in my room in less than 20 minutes. The fridge arrived a short time later just as she said it would.
I was very pleased with how quickly Danielle responded to the situation and how quickly it was resolved. I will definitely be going back because of the exceptional customer service she provided and caring attitude she had toward remedying the situation. Thank you, Danielle Lythgoe!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Terrence,
Thank you for the great comments about our Danielle and the service she provided to you. It is always great to see these types of comments were the staff member is mentioned. Once again thank you for taking the time to respond and recognize Danielle for her service.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed there for over 2 weeks for my conference in gainsville. There are multiple conference rooms in the hotel. They should have power outlets in the conference rooms so we can plug in our laptop though. The only outlet i found in the conference rooms are several wall outlets. Room was moderate size, bed was comfy to sleep in. Agreed with previous comments on loud noise the heater made. Satisfied with reception, good check in and check out. They forgot to replenish coffee and sugar in my room twice while i was there. I was on the second floor and could hear some dogs barking in the evening (they allow pets in this hotel) . Fortunately, the noise was gone when i went to bed. Some channels on cable tv did not work. I could watch them for about a week and they were gone. Didn't complain about it since i watched some movies on other channels. Breakfast was ok but i got pretty bored after having the same menu for a week. Sweetbay supermarket is a convenient walk 2 blocks away and a bus stop just in front of the hotel. You can also walk from the hotel to the butterfly exhibits just across the street. The museum is free unless you want to go into the covered screen dome then you'd have to pay usd9 per adult. I would give this hotel a 3 star considereing the price which was about usd 130 per night.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wate49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Wate49,
Thank you for the feedback from your stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback that you provided to us about your stay. Once again thank you and if your travels bring you back to Gainesville please let us know.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed here a few times, and found the hotel to be pleasant, clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful; the restaurant is good. Location is just outside the UF campus. Close to many restaurants and stores.

Our most recent stay was January 17, 2014. I pulled a tissue out of the box in the room, and found a dirty tissue. It had lipstick and someone's lip prints on it, from when someone pressed her lips on the tissue after applying lipstick. No way to know if housekeeping did this, or a previous guest, but it was disgusting.

This incident would probably not affect our decision for future stays, as cleanliness was acceptable in every other aspect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32tza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear TK,
We thank you for the comments about your stay, and we have added steps to make sure this kind of item does not happen again. It is great to hear comments about our staff on how friendly and helpful they were.
Thank you again for the feedback it is very much welcomed.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

First, the positive. The service in the conference facilities and at the hotel itself was exceptional. Staff were attentive but not always present, which was nice since we didn't have any issues. The hotel food was, for the most part, very good. We had a group of about 14 people, and most people enjoyed the food. I am a meeting planner and was overall pleased with the conference facilities and excellent hospitality including when a gentleman remembered me by name on every greeting. The hotel is conveniently located and great if you are visiting the University of Florida.

Next, the not so good. The walls in the sleeping room seemed paper thin. I could hear the man in the next room's entire conversation, which he carried on until 1am...so I didn't sleep. The heater in the room made a loud buzzing sound. The front desk offered to switch me to a different room, but by the time I noticed the issues, I was too exhausted to move. The carpets in the hallways including the conference area were boldly ugly, but apparently they were new, so it looks like they will be there for a while. Rooms were overpriced given their location and amenities (plus they felt like an older hotel's rooms). WiFi was $9.99 per day and limited to just one device. The nighttime front desk person incorrectly told me the cost was for multiple devices, so I was surprised when I was charged double to connect my iPad and laptop. The front desk person in the morning apologized and removed the charges saying it was likely new employees weren't aware, so I appreciated that. There was orange and blue everywhere, and lots of Gator things, so if you are a fan, that's nice...if you are not (like me), it's a bit much and is quite off-putting! The rooms seemed fairly clean except the remote control which had caked-on food on it. I'd bring a sanitizing wipe in the future. Also, the grounds were okay but there were some huge fire ant mounds that needed to be attended to (I stepped in one and it was not pleasant). Finally, the conference facility restrooms were limited to one large facility instead of spread about through the conference area...and the entrances were not always accessible including lack of a button to open the door for a wheelchair in the main conference entrance.

I would have given an overall rating of 3 had it not been for the exceptional service across the board. The facility itself has a ways to go to live up to most Hilton standards, but the employees are top-notch. I would definitely consider the property for any gathering in the area requiring meeting space.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet when you sleep, be sure to ask for a room on the outer corridor preferably with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunshineDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear SunshineDiver,
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. It was great to have the detail such as yours so that we can address the issues you mentioned. Again thank you for the wonderful feedback you provided.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Perfect for our short stay in Gainesville to see UF. Adorned with Gator paraphernalia, the hotel is very reminiscent of the campus. Rooms were clean and neat, also reasonably priced. Courteous staff for the most part, although I was annoyed when a waitress gave me a hard time ordering a drink even though I presented TWO forms of ID. Great location, so close to the campus with many activities and restaurants nearby. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear madeinnewyork,
Thank you for the great feedback from your stay with us. I will make sure that your review gets shared with all of our team, from housekeeping to our food & beverage team. I will make sure that our food & beverage director is aware of the issue in the lounge.
If your travels bring you back please make sure to let us know. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have spent a lot of time here lately. Here are the pros and cons I have witnessed over the latest week :

^^^^^ Pros:
*They have FX, which is somewhat rare in a hotel (but very nice, especially when you basically live here).
*Parking is free.
*Hotel campus, bar and rooms are very clean.
*The lobby has a sports bar.
*Some of the front desk staff (Mathew) goes WAY out of their way to help. Check in was above and beyond helpful and friendly.
*They will deliver a fridge if you ask for one.
*The desks in the rooms have plenty of outlets (I count 6 without having to go under the table or to the wall). Enough for your phone, laptop, iPad, MiFi (and two more) so you don't have to scatter your stuff all over the room to keep it charged.
*They have iMac computers (and Windows PCs) in the lobby.
*They have Lodgenet (Pay Per View movies).


xxxxx Cons:
*No Happy Hour whatsoever. Not even 2 for 1 drinks in the afternoon. Very rare for a Hilton or equivalent.
*Some people at the front desk don't care what you want and are not afraid to dismiss your issue rapidly without taking the time to understand your problem.
*The rooms do not have refrigerators. Only the Presidential Suite comes with one.
*TV is okay, but definitely on the small size (32 inch).
*The gift shop doesn't sell wine OR beer. Weird!
*No laundry machines.
*No minibar.
*The bathrooms are small. The real problem with this is not a lack of room, it is a safety thing. I almost broke my neck in the shower here.
*They bumped me (Diamond Member) out of my reserved king bedroom to a two double bedroom because a basketball team was going to be checking in later in the week and they were more important.

I'll be back. Maybe next time there won't be a basketball game.

Room Tip: If you want a king size bed, don't stay here when the basketball team is in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmerritt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Jmerritt3,

Thank you for the feedback from your stay. It is nice to see how you broke it down, and I will address some of the cons that you have posted with our staff. I am sorry that you were bumped from the room type that you requested, as a Diamond Member I do understand your loyalty and I am sorry that happened.
If your travels do bring you back to Gainesville please let me know, we just recently placed into several king rooms, a 55" TV, fridge and microwave.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The first thing I noticed was trash in the hallway - not a lot and it wouldn't have been an issue but that it was there when we left the next day too. To start, the bathroom floor was STICKY! When wiped with a tissue, it was black (dirty). When we tried to call down to the front desk one of the phones in the room didn't work. They were prompt in their response and someone came up quickly to clean the floor. Shortly after that, the toilet overflowed when flushed (was that the cause of the stickiness????). We used the towels in the room to keep the toilet water from leaving the bathroom and soaking the room carpet. Another call to the front desk brought someone with a plunger and new towels. The girl that responded to clean even commented that it smelled. Our order with room service was messed up - no bacon on either sandwich, cheese missing on one. When we complained about that they offered to "comp" our breakfast. The next morning, the toilet clogged again (but didn't overflow), so again the guy came with the plunger. Breakfast was indeed comped, but was cold. The coffee pot in the lobby was empty. It seems to me that after the toilet overflowed, they should have offered to move us to a different room, just from a customer service point of view. In general, the hotel seemed very far below the standards implied by the Hilton name.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Judy J,
We have received your feedback from your stay and I am sorry about the items you encountered. If you could please contact me directly so that we may have a chance to discuss your experience further it would be appreciated. I can be reached at either tmacdonald@hiltongainesvilleuf.com, or 352.384.3416.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 47 in Gainesville
461 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
6.1 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Address: 1714 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32607-4138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $120 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing