We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gainesville Hilton Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Largo, United States
1 review
“Gainesville Hilton Excellence”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stay at this location often. Never a problem..Clean, well run, and GATOR friendly. The breakfast buffet is well done. Good location near U.F. Friendly staff ,with the exception of the once and a while haughty front desk staff. Nice Bar...a bit expensive...$7.40 for 1 Shocktop beer. Easy access to I-75 and insurance world at Nationwide, down the block.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Charles C,
Thank you for the great review about your stay. I will make sure to work with our front office team as we continue to strive for excellence.
Please let us know when you are back to Gainesville, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    310
    157
    86
    41
See reviews for
388
110
52
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Pretty much perfect except there is no complimentary wifi in the rooms. I had to book my flight and next hotel stay in the business center which is a table in the lobby with 2 computers, so not too much privacy. The hotel lobby is beautiful and all of the staff were very warm and welcoming. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. I would come here again. The only thing stopping from rating it a perfect is the internet situation. I was only staying 1 night and I wasn't going to pay $10 just to use their wifi for a few hours.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Jeff J,
Thank you for the feedback about your stay I am sorry about your issue with the wifi. It should have been communicated to you that it was included with your visit to UF. I will make sure that I am working with the agents to let our guests know. Thank you again for the feedback.
Good luck in the matching process.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Diamond HHonors member here. The Gainesville Hilton ranks right up there withy any big city Hilton. The room decor exceeded that of most hotels, the rooms & all facilities were very clean, the service was excellent & the breakfast buffet as good as any. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Ronald R,
Thank you for the great review of your stay. All of our associates do take great pride in working here and it does truly show.
Please let us know when you are back in Gainesville, we always enjoy when our Diamond members have a great experience.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This Hilton is one of the nicer properties in the Gainesville area. I had jut completed a very long day and drive and happened into this as an HHonors member and was not disappointed. Very nice lobby bar and good bar food. I caught the World Series game and had some wings, which were great.

This is a nice property and in terms of Gainesville is above average but not impressive compared to top end hotels in larger metro areas. If in Gainesville I would happily go back as a best option.

Room Tip: There is a property in the midst of all the nice restaurants in the city, I think it is a Hampton In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie2D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Foodie2D,
Thank you for the feedback from your stay. I have shared it with the team and we all say thank you. We are always looking for ways to improve our property as smaller properties spring up in Gainesville.
Please let us know when you are returning we would love to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The front desk receptionist, although very chirpy, did not acknowledge I was a Hilton Honors member so I had to ask if my information was on their computer. They also did not provide their usual complimentary bottled water.

I must also add that, although our room was a few doors down from the elevator, we could still hear people slamming their door in the middle of the night and early morning hours.

Will not be back...

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Sharon P,
Thank you for the time to give us feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not acknowledge you for your loyalty to the Hilton Honors program. Typically we do keep extra water at the desk, and also try to deliver ahead of time to the guest rooms. I have spoken with our engineering team about the doors and we are looking at each room and making sure that the doors are not slamming and making adjusts as needed.
Please contact me when your travels bring you back to Gainesville, you will see a difference.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you can find another place to stay, do it. The door to my room had gapes that I could see & hear who & what was said in the hall. To access the pool & hot tub, one has to go thru the bar or dining area & if you are a lone woman, the hot tub is in a far corner surrounded by thick bushes. I encountered all but 2 people working there who were friendly & did not act like I was bothering them. Carpet in room did not look clean at all. I would not walk on it bare foot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Suzette K,
I want to thank you for your feedback from your stay. I am working with our engineering department to look at the options that we might have to address the gap at the bottom of the guest room door. We will look at the bushes around the Hot Tub and I do very much appreciate you giving us this feedback about the area.
I have shared your review with our teams and we are striving to improve the overall service that we provide. I am sorry about your experience and if your travels bring you to Gainesville again please let me know.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 27, 2013

One of the nicest Hotels in Gainesville around 10 years ago when it was built, but has fallen into general disrepair. Literally smelled like sewage in the hall. Room was just as bad with damp musty floors. I had to keep my shoes on in the room. Shower had short brown curly hairs and a slimy feel. Broken phone, broken sink. But hey, there were lots of happy dog owners there, so come on down if you want to meet other people who don't care about cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear tripadvisor member,
I do very much appreciate the feedback about your stay. Please contact me directly at tmacdonald@hiltongainesvilleuf.com so that we may further discuss your experience. We do want to make sure we are addressing the issues you experienced and I need a bit more information about your stay.
I look forward to working with you.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Property: Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Address: 1714 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32607-4138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing