We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff were extremely nice, helpful and friendly. The bar was the only available dinner option on Sunday and the food was better than expected. Our issues were the room itself. The TV service is below standard. A slow guide channel that scrolls without control and incorrect labels/ channels. The bed was made without a top sheet and when you pull the tight blanket the sheet pulls out too. Nothing horrible just not up to Hilton expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoLoHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    269
    132
    77
    33
See reviews for
332
85
43
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed her for 5 days on business. No complaints whatsoever at this exceptional service focused hotel. Prime location for dining, shopping, etc. The customer service from the room service to the bars and restaurants were outstanding. The room was large in size and very comfortable, quiet and safe. All food ordered within the hotel was absolutely delicious. The wings and french fries were the best we have ever had. (I am a wing connoisseur). The exercise room is large and had a variety of workout equipment. It is located on the bottom floor, near the outdoor pool. The shuttle drove us downtown to an awesome restaurant and the driver showed us all the hot spots. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this great hotel. Just an all around great experience! This is the only hotel I wall stay at in Gainesville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were fleeing from a camping trip (in tents) that turned sour with severe thunderstorms & hail near Live Oak and White Springs, and this Hilton-property hotel was the only one available in the area (yes, we are brand-loyal). The staff was very nice and checked us in quickly. We didn't get to eat in the restaurant but we did eat at the bar on a Sunday; again, the staff treated us great and were very family friendly. The carpet in the halls (2nd floor) was a little dated, but over all our experience with the hotel and its great staff was very positive. They certainly were our "port in a storm." We usually stay in the Ocala area when we are traveling from South Florida to North Florida, but I believe we may make this our new midway stopping point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The rooms were very nice which is expected at a Hilton. They lacked in a refrigerator/microwave which most hotels now offer. Had they provided these I would have been more likely to extend my stay, rather than switch to a hotel that offered these. I like to keep drinks and snacks in my room. Also, not offering free wifi. Come on - add a few dollars to the room rate if you have to. Nickel and diming your guests is in poor taste. I would expect that at a Quality Inn or Best Western but not a Hilton. Although this was a family trip, I travel frequently on business and will consider carefully the pros and cons of staying in a Hilton versus other hotels. Overall this was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
447 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I stay here often for work. Consistently good hotel. On sold out nights the noise level in the hallways can be a bit much but that is more of a problem with rude guests than the hotel.

Breakfast buffet (free for Gold and Diamond Hhonors members) is excellent 80 percent of the time. Made to order omelet with the buffet is the best in Gaineville. And this is the only place I let myself eat biscuits and gravy. It is excellent. Was there this past Saturday morning and was disappointed that they did not have anyone making omelets. They seemed short staffed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Before my family and I moved to Gainesville we were staying at the Hilton. The Hilton has wonderful service, two great restaurants and beautiful rooms. There outdoor pool is nice and the hot tub is delightful. The staff is warm and friendly and the gift shop is a bonus. I recommend you to take a trip to the Hilton

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This Hilton is conveniently located in the middle of UF. Reception was good and kind. However the room was definitely outdated for what is expected from a Hilton. Pillows were really old and spiky threads were popping out of them. The restroom was particularly outdated with the faucet hot water handle broken. In general, a bit disappointed. And of course, there was the Hilton traditional lack of included breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Property: Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Address: 1714 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32607-4138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing