We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outdated room and no breakfast included” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outdated room and no breakfast included”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This Hilton is conveniently located in the middle of UF. Reception was good and kind. However the room was definitely outdated for what is expected from a Hilton. Pillows were really old and spiky threads were popping out of them. The restroom was particularly outdated with the faucet hot water handle broken. In general, a bit disappointed. And of course, there was the Hilton traditional lack of included breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    279
    145
    80
    36
See reviews for
350
93
45
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was a part of a technical conference that was held at the hotel over 3 days. The rooms are updated and clean, the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and the conference center is easy to access. Right across the street from the University of Florida, so probably a good place for parents to stay as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I have always enjoyed the UF Hilton but I noticed that the service has slipped.the hot and cold water handles in the room were switched. There was no complimentary shampoo bottle. The front desk personnel were nice but the bar attendants seemed to be bothered if one sked for a drink.
They need a re-emphasis on customer service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had a lot of problems with my reservation -- it was messed up several times, despite several calls and it seems fixible -- BUT the manager and staff were very upfront and friendly, and they handled the issue. Frustrating, but these were honest and concerned people. This hotel was a little nicer than I expected -- the room (7th floor in the corner) was a nice size for two people with two dbls and it was in great shape. The floors, the food and esp the service were great. We are rival fans, and everyone was nice -- I enjoyed the breakfast. The walk to Gator games is a little ways -- say a mile to football and both bballs -- but it is a lovely walk up muesem drive or whatever. This is not the active side of campus, but I would certainly stay here again if I were coming for an ath event. Overall, if you are looking for a very nice hotel for a weekend in g'ville around the school, I think this is your best choice. They may need to fix a few things in terms of reservations, but the facility and staff is very nice. Bottom line: I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

As the coach of a college team, we stayed at the hotel last weekend to play at UF and had an excellent experience. Traveling with a group of 30 can be challenging, but the hotel's Director of Food and Beverage went above and beyond to accommodate all of our needs during our stay. We only ate breakfast on the premises, but the buffet had a wide variety of food to keep the entire team happy. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Typical conference hotel experience, just on a smaller scale. Staff underqualified. Rooms are so-so; you can hear everything in rooms all around you, so in that regard it is like a much cheaper motel. Food also so-so in quality. One room-service staffer made inappropriate comments in front of small children. Cleaning crew flubbed something every day, from not enough towels (it was no mystery that there is a family of 4, so you need 4 towels), to no coffee pods, to not replacing bottled water--each glitch requires a call to the desk, and then a wait. Don't know if there are better options in Gainesville, but it is worth looking around for them if you have to go there. This one was overpriced, even with a special rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Not the best stay we have ever had, but good enough for a couple of nights. Ill tempered check-in clerk, small room with elderly furnishings for the price, not particularly quiet (ice machine at door). Did not bother with the breakfast (not included). The lobby is pleasant, but you have to pay for a newspaper! No check out problems, but on arrival home found that Hilton points had not been credited - unbelievably they had no record of the stay! So tedious business of scanning the bill, emailing a couple of times and finally receiving after a month. Sorry Hilton you are not our favourite US hotel chain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Property: Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Address: 1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing