We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Kind and courteous staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
“Kind and courteous staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last month around Christmas time and my husband and I had a problem with our sink and television. I contacted the front desk the morning after we checked in to let them know we had a problem. After having lunch at Albert's Restaurant (where we had excellent food and an amazing server named Candace) we returned to our room to find that our problems were not resolved. I then contacted the front desk once again and within 5 minutes a kind young man named David from the maintenance department came up and got our television working properly and also resolved our sink problems. After apologizing for not getting service that morning, he then offered us breakfast coupons, which we declined because of our H Honors status we already receive breakfast coupons. He then asked if there was anything else he could do to help us for being inconvenienced. The problem being resolved was all that we needed. My husband offered him gratuity for helping us in such a timely manner which he politely declined and apologized once again for no one helping us when we initially called. It was great to be treated with respect and we will be returning to this hotel anytime we are in the Gainesville area, thanks to this kind gentleman. Upon checkout the front desk clerk thanked us for our loyalty and I was amazed that they remembered that I was an H Honors guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank city2city52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    279
    145
    80
    36
See reviews for
350
93
45
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas, and they treated us like family. Everyone from the wait staff to the heads of food/beverage services and marketing went above and beyond to ensure we were well taken care of. Our rooms were spacious and clean and were actually about to undergo renovations, even though they were already nicer (better pillows, mattresses, closet space, countertops, etc.) than many other comparably priced hotels. -- That just shows the care and pride they take in their hotel.

We could not have asked for a better visit! Thank you to Wagih William and everyone at Hilton. We will see you again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmr276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have attended meeting here for the last 3 years. On this visit I have been treated like royalty by Waigh William, Food & Beverage Director. Our server Denise in the restaurant gave us outstanding service. Also Loren in reservations came out to meet me and thanked me for my visit. This has been the most pleasant experience I have had in the 35 years I have been traveling in my job as a Sales professional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I travel to Gainesville and this my favorite hotel in town. Very nice hotel for a smaller town like Gainesville. Clean, comfortable rooms, and a great location convenient to UF, restaurants and I-75. The management has done a good job updating the rooms and hallways over the years. Typically the rates are very good for the quality of the hotel. As you would expect the hotel significantly upcharges during special events: UF football games, graduation weekends..,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace5220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stay at this hotel at least once a month if not twice a month and usually 2 to 4 nights at a time. I have never been treated anything but excellent, every time I have been there!! From checking in late, usually 7 pm or later I am greated by Marlea who smiles and welcomes me, knows me by name and always greets me as such! I get my room key and she always adds, if you need anything, just let me know. When I enter the room, there is always a light on, which is nice no fumbling in the dark and jazz music playing to welcome me. In morning I am always welcomed by Denise and Emma taking me to my favorite table. They both are exceptional , taking care of anything you need. Fresh fruit and yummy items from oatmeal to a fresh omelette is yours depending on your mood. Wagih always greets me when I check in and in morning, "are you joining us for breakfast?" So glad to see you again is his greeting. In evening if you eat there, the 2 Bits bar and grill is excellent!!! Great food great atmosphere and great service, Kelsey and Vito are excellent, recommend when you do not know what you want and very attentive, bringing you drink refreshments with a smile. On a recent stay they were swamped and ran around making sure every guest had the same excellent experience. My favorite at this hotel is Theresa at the front desk. "checking to make sure you have everything you need" Always a smile and a pleasant voice! Was there one night to check in and the guest in front of me was quite rude, she never lost her composure and made the guest happy. I work for a very large retail company and customer service is number one in my company and I can tell you from personal experience, this staff goes above and beyond for every guest!! I even had an issue with housekeeping in my room and when I spoke with Theresa it was handled and when I came back after a long day was welcomed with a wonderful room!!! Stay here!! You will not be disappointed!~

Room Tip: Speak to front desk,, they will help you get exactly what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annah0700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Convenient location to stay for business at Shands and UF. Parking is not the greatest. The hotel and rooms are decorated in Gator decor (blah). The rooms are comfy and clean. There was no lotion in the rooms. Generally, Hilton provides decent toiletries. Albert's was average. Unfortunately, I did not get to try out the bar area. It seemed like it was pretty nice,

Room Tip: Plan on walking far from your car to the hotel. Make sure you pack an umbrella!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to Alberts for Christmas Day dinner and it's now five days later and we are still dealing with the issue. Our meal was great, however we payed with two credit cards and have since been charged multiple times and overcharged an outrageous amount on both cards. The meal was $101.06 and one card should have been charged $30 and the other $71.06. Instead one card was charged $101.06 and $85.27 and the other card was charged $85.27 twice. My mother and I went to the Hotel after not being able to contact anyone by phone and we stood around for over two hours and was passed from one person to the next until they finally gave us to the restaurant manager who said he would refund one of the cards the difference between the over charged amount and the actual amount.

The manager also treated us to a meal after waiting for so long and dealing with so much stress. The food was once again excellent. However, since then we have had another charge come up onto my husbands card and my mothers bank suspended one of the transactions and the other went through. We have been passed from one person to another so many times, and still have yet to have the issue resolved. I have never had something like this happen at any restaurant, hotel, or business and I don't feel this is appropriate to do with peoples bank accounts especially during the holiday season!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Property: Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Address: 1714 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32607-4138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing