We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Although I was not one of the hotel customers, when I asked about the shuttle I was supposed to take in front of the hotel, the staff were kind enough to explain where I needed to catch the shuttle and actually gave me a ride to the right spot. I was definitely impressed by their helpful and friendly behavior -and I feel like I could not thank you enough for that. I'd definitely recommend this hotel, which offers even noncustomers a great service.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
Thank bukett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
There are newer reviews for Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

I had family stay at the Gainesville Hilton several times in the past and it was very fine. But I am writing now about a French conversation group that visits the Hilton twice a month for a meeting in the in the afternoon. It is called the Alliance Francaise. You never know how many people will show up but we are always treated very curteouslyand enjoy our stay there for about 1 1/2 hours when we gather there to speak French. I'm sure some of your waitresses/waiters know who we are. We have been meeting at the Hilton for several years now and I'm sure if we weren't treated courteously and the ambiance wasn't as nice as it is, we would be meeting somewhere else by now. Judy Wilson. Juwilson@cox.net.

I

Room Tip: get there early.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank lubavitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUF, General Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Bonjour and Merci!! Thank you so much for your comments. On behalf of all the staff, we are so happy that you enjoy your meetings here and hope that they continue well into the future!

Nanci Haley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Seldom have I ever slept well in a hotel, but Hilton University, Gainesville broke that cycle. The pillows and matress were wonderful. I wrote down the pillow type before I left, and asked at the front desk what the mattress was. The Assistant at the desk looked it up online and printed it out for me, and not only that, but called her manager to ask if they used the same products as the Hilton website listed. She was VERY helpful. The room was very clean, quiet, and ACCESSIBLE, since I am disabled, it means a lot to have a roll-in shower and be able to reach everything in the room. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: I use Hilton Honors program and AAA discount.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musiclady1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Staff consistently went out of their way to be helpful. Very reasonable rate for Shands Hospital patients. Not your usual university hotel, definitely a cut above.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Wilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Booked room over month in advance, then drive 15 hrs to be told they are out of rooms & they have called another non Hilton hotel that is less in quality for us to stay.We had even called 4 hrs before we arrived to confirm room & let them know we would be a late arrival. When I asked why they didn't call us to let us know in advance they couldn't respond. We went to other hotel & the person at desk was pleasant but then we find out it's a room for 2 people not the 4 of us. So then had to call Hilton to see if they would take care of another room & begrudgingly they did. The hotel we ended up at was not nearly as nice as the Hilton - very outdated - hate when wallpaper is painted over & hanging off the wall plus zero water pressure. I'm soooo disappointed in Hilton - and I'm a loyal Honors member.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gators17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUF, General Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

On behalf of the staff at Hilton University of Florida, we all apologize for the inconvenience of your relocation this past weekend. We were unaware that we would have an issue when you called or that you would be the guest impacted. This is a situation we rarely find ourselves in and we try to handle the best we can when it does.

The hotel we relocated you to was the only hotel with availability near us and we regret you were unhappy with it. We have taken care of the charges for the rooms where you were sent. As you were traveling on a rewards certificate, those points have also been returned to your Hilton Honors account so that you can use them at a future date.

Again, we truly regret that you were relocated and unable to stay with us during this stay and hope we will have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

Nanci Haley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This seems like an old hotel that has been fairly nicely renovated. Pretty nice grounds. The hotel location is great if you are going to be at the university. The bathroom door was very dirty!! Other than that the room was clean. The room did have a mildew smell though. There was a very unfriendly guy working in the bar. This is not a bad hotel, I just think I would try something else if I were going back to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I recently attended a conference at the UF Hilton and was very pleased with the accommodations. The hotel has a free shuttle service to bring you to & from the airport (about a 20min ride). The front desk staff was very friendly & helpful. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Wireless internet access is FREE and worked perfectly, including streaming Netflix movies.

The conference center within the hotel was very nice and provided great food. The business center is available to all guests, which was great to print boarding passes before heading to the airport.

The most impressive feature of this hotel to me had to be how the shower water always seemed hot!!! I hate that many hotels often have trouble keeping up with hot water demands, especially during peak times. I would have thought that at a conference center this would be a problem, but not here!!

Overall, this was a great hotel that exceeded all of my expectations!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameskao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 46 in Gainesville
449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Address: 1714 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32607-4138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $156 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing