We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Good ...”
Review of Blue Gill

Blue Gill
Ranked #46 of 577 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“It's Good ...”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I went there yesterday with a friend for lunch .Very well presented food. The service was great and quick. Loved my open face tuna salad sammy served with a fried egg on top of delicious sliced beefsteak tomato and a very generous garden salad . All for $7.50!!. I will be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry34448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    42
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good food, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The restaurant is located on the commercial side of a Shands parking garage. Despite that, the internal ambience is very nice. The service is very good and the waiters make you very comfortable. The food is very good, made with care and with good ingredients, nice flavors too. I didn't care much about the cocktails, a bit too sweet for my taste. Prices are on the expensive side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diveraddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,228 reviews
970 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Great fried chicken in an upscale out of the way under a parking garage.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Good collards, ok Mac n cheese, great fried chicken, great cornbread, great brisket(pot roast style), good fried chocolate pie, ok service from a young staff and ok decor in this gem in Gainesville, Florida. It truly is Son of Mildred's without the fancy dishes but with much more room. Parking after 4:30 is free in the lot on top.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogersober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Southern, local, with some New Additions”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Southern inspired dishes with some nouveau influences and local ingredients make it a fine companion to Mildreds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the Blue Gill Burger!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and food. We had the smoked fish dip which was fresh, but a little on the creamy/sweet side. The tortilla chips could have been a bit fresher. For our entrees, we had the blue gill burger and the brisket. The burger had a great smoky flavor and the pimento cheese was a nice touch. The brisket tasted a bit more like pot roast. Would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuNkYB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Gill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing