We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good for our breakfast, but might not be for everyone”
Review of The Jones Eastside - CLOSED

The Jones Eastside
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
Central Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Extremely good for our breakfast, but might not be for everyone”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

There was an interesting variety of menu items to choose from, and we all had very different selections. The staff was friendly and the food came promptly. They pleasantly accommodated dietary preferences. The restaurant is not fancy, or elegantly appointed but it is small. It did hit the spot for a casual visit with friends. The food was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    19
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hipsters galore”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went to this over-hyped eatery with a local friend. Food was bland and to be honest just weird. Would not recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thedictator88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food... unprofessional staff”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

After our first visit, we were very impressed with the food -- original offerings prepared with a flair. The atmosphere and staff however, began to wear a little thin. Customers should not be aware that employees have lives packed with drama and are dealing with complex social/emotional issues. This place may be have the makings for a reality show but for fine dining, I think we'll move on.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank n0tatypicalt0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“High Priced, Limited Menu and Cramped Seating”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We ate dinner here while in the area from out of town, because we saw all the great reviews on Trip Advisor and my wife is vegetarian.

(The Good):
-Food was fresh and tasted good.
-Friendly staff

(The Bad):
- Very limited menu selection (a dozen choices or less)
- Very limited seating (this is a tiny place in a run-down strip mall) - seats around 15 - 20 people max in whole restaurant.
- Way Way overpriced
- Rough area of town
- Didn't really give an impression of being very clean

Overall thoughts: Good idea and concept but very limited menu choices, high prices and cramped seating area have me thinking we won't return until some changes occur.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atomic-Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eclectic, organic and good”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food was fresh, organic and wholesome. Definitely recommend if you are in Gainesville. Small little cafe style restaurant that accepts cash or check only. I ordered falafel burger and my husband the Jones Cristo French toast with cheese. Delish all around!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ucfann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jones Eastside also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing