We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unique restaurant for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe C

Cafe C
Ranked #193 of 566 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe C is a small local Cafe that serves amazing fresh salads and sandwiches, as well as homemade soups and the best homemade double chocolate brownies you have ever tasted! We have the best staff in town and our place is colorful and cozy. We add a Buffet on Wednesdays that's loaded with soul food, barbecue and other delicious lunch goodies! We are owned by Celebrations Catering, and we are able to rent our space after 3pm for parties, meetings and events.
Alachua, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very unique restaurant for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a great little restaurant for lunch. Salads are very big and filling. Tango Chicken Salad is my favorite and my Husband's is Meat me my love. It is unique because you get to pick out your own glass, and they have blueberry tea. If you like soup, sandwiches and salads, best place on the north side of Gainesville. It's decorated very unique, one of a kind. The staff is very nice and Carl is first class. We go there at least once a week.

Wednesday's that have a awesome buffet, get there early, it gets quite busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlettowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thanks for leaving such a kind review on TripAdvisor, Scarlett. We're thrilled to hear you and your husband enjoy our little cafe so much that you come by at least once a week. Looking forward to whipping up some Tango Chicken Salad and Meat Me My Love for you two soon! -- 'Til then, Leah, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cucumber water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

As always, I use tripadvisor to locate new and unique places as my wife and I travel. This place had my wife from the moment she stepped into the door and was offered cucumber water and lemon. Great food, great customer service!

Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Sounds like the cucumber water with lemon was a great start to a great meal with us, Danny. I'm really glad to hear that TripAdvisor led you to our cafe as well. Hope to see you two back next time you're in Gainesville! -- Best, Leah, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good Food Near Downtown Gainesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The location of Cafe C, across the street from the Police Station, might be described as a less-than-ideal neighborhood, but the food is tasty. The house Club sandwich is an unusual take on this classic, and one of our favorites. The service is quick and friendly, and the menu extensive. We must go again soon to extend our experience with the range of dishes available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Glad to hear you like our spin on the Club Sandwich, George. What are you looking forward to trying next time? We can't wait to welcome you back for another bite! -- Best wishes, Leah, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I had heard great things about Cafe C from friends, but do not get to go out to lunch very often. I got the opportunity to go and am glad I did. I had the meat me for lunch sandwich and my wife had the walter smith ciabatta. They both looked so good that we shared half with each other. The meat me for lunch had a spicey mustard on it that was excellent. The walter smith came with apples and cinnamon. They were both wonderful. The people at Cafe C are friendly and helpful. It is a locally owned small restaurant that has indoor and outdoor seating. The food was great the people were local and friendly, and I will go back as soon as I get the chance

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fozzybear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We're glad you decided to go out for lunch too! Sharing is always a great way to go, so we're glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed the Meat Me For Lunch and Walter Smith sandwiches. We're already looking forward to your next visit -- can't wait to make some more delicious sandwiches for you two! -- Best wishes, Leah, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEST BRUNCH IN GAINESVILLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were so disappointed that we couldn't get into another popular Gainesville restaurant for brunch. But, a member of our group suggested Cafe C. What a great idea. We absolutely LOVED Cafe C. Not only was the all you can eat brunch buffet AWESOME, the ambience was great, and the staff were the friendliest ever. We stumbled upon a real jewel. We are looking forward to our next trip to Gainesville so we can return to Cafe C.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roxieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Sorry your first plan didn't work out, but I think we'll both agree that it worked out in the end! Happy to hear you enjoyed the Sunday brunch. Was there anything in particular in the buffet that stood out to you? We're looking forward to serving you on your next trip to Gainesville! -- Warm wishes, Leah, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe C also viewed

 

Been to Cafe C? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing