We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it, and I keep coming back!”

Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo
Ranked #12 of 61 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo houses 70 species, and 250 individual animals in its collection, including white handed gibbons, red ruffed lemurs, ocelots, bald eagles, Galapagos tortoises, African grey parrots, and Matschie’s tree kangaroo. Days Open: Monday - Sunday 9am – 2pm. The Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo is Gainesville’s community zoo and the training facility for the Zoo Animal Technology Program. Situated on 10 forested acres, students in the Zoo Animal Technology Program provide daily care for the animals as well as tours of the zoo grounds. The personalized tours are designed to give visitors a more educational and enjoyable experience and to give zoo students more experience working with guests.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Love it, and I keep coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

What was my favorite part of being a Santa Fe student? FREE ACCESS TO THE TEACHING ZOO!!!! Even if you're not a student, the entrance fee is minimal, and well worth it.

It's a small zoo, but the animals they house and the way they're displayed make up for its size. We're talking ocelots, a black swan, the most enormous alligator I've ever seen in my life, lemurs, hornbills, secretary birds, there's no end! Not to mention the local peacocks and armadillos that freely walk about the campus.

It's a great place to visit in an afternoon!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MayflowerTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We appreciate our Alumni that keep returning to see our Zoo. The Zoo currently updated the pavilion by Alligator exhibit and added a new trail as well. In addition, we have new items in our gift shop. Thanks for stopping and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    58
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ideal for an hour's visit. Great for families with young children. Guides were friendly and eager to educate. Not a wide variety of animals, but enough to keep you engaged for an hour or so. My son could not get enough of the snake exhibits, and kept oohing and aahing at each snake/ frog/ lizard. Educational and informative. Mini play area for the young ones added a plus!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank momofson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many Thanks for stopping by and seeing our facility. If you are in the area in the future, contact us at (352) 395-5603 to schedule an animal encounter with some of our reptiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Small Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went with my teenage daughter one afternoon. Check the operational hours before you go; it closes early. I don't understand the review that said you had to make an appointment. We just walked.

There is a nice selection of animals. You can get very close to many of the animals. It is easy to get around. There was some maintenance on some sections, so we didn't get to see everything. These is a minimal admission fee (~$5). It is well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for visiting! We are currently updating parts of the Zoo. Please come out earlier in the future to see our improvements and listen to a keeper talk about one of our animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

A pretty impressive little zoo for Santa Fe College. It would be a little easier to visit if you didn't have to make an appointment but it is nice to have the student guides explalning things.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizharvey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for visiting our Zoo. In the future, appointments are not needed unless you are a potential student or request a guided tour of our facility. We are open to the general public from 9:00AM - 2:00PM, seven days a week. Rain or Shine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome Zoo Right Here In Gainesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This zoo is so much more than I expected. Quite a variety of animals and habitats. Lots of student on hand to explain about animals. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Principal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate your visit. Come back and request a hands on animal encounter at (352) 395-5603.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing