We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty impressive”

Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo
Ranked #10 of 73 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo houses 70 species, and 250 individual animals in its collection, including white handed gibbons, red ruffed lemurs, ocelots, bald eagles, Galapagos tortoises, African grey parrots, and Matschie’s tree kangaroo. Days Open: Monday - Sunday 9am – 2pm. The Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo is Gainesville’s community zoo and the training facility for the Zoo Animal Technology Program. Situated on 10 forested acres, students in the Zoo Animal Technology Program provide daily care for the animals as well as tours of the zoo grounds. The personalized tours are designed to give visitors a more educational and enjoyable experience and to give zoo students more experience working with guests.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A pretty impressive little zoo for Santa Fe College. It would be a little easier to visit if you didn't have to make an appointment but it is nice to have the student guides explalning things.

Thank lizharvey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for visiting our Zoo. In the future, appointments are not needed unless you are a potential student or request a guided tour of our facility. We are open to the general public from 9:00AM - 2:00PM, seven days a week. Rain or Shine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small playground"
in 5 reviews
"tree kangaroo"
in 3 reviews
"wide variety of animals"
in 5 reviews
"rare animals"
in 2 reviews
"specific area"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful peacocks"
in 2 reviews
"reasonable admission"
in 2 reviews
"share their knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"animals seem"
in 2 reviews
"unique animals"
in 2 reviews
"great place to take the kids"
in 3 reviews
"picnic benches"
in 2 reviews
"wooded area"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 6 reviews
"year olds"
in 2 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 2 reviews
"you'd expect"
in 2 reviews
Filter

146 - 150 of 199 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This zoo is so much more than I expected. Quite a variety of animals and habitats. Lots of student on hand to explain about animals. :)

Thank Principal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We appreciate your visit. Come back and request a hands on animal encounter at (352) 395-5603.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a teaching zoo, which the College uses to train people to work in zoos. A neat place, and a pleasure to walk through.

1  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Many Thanks for your visiting! We also have animal encounters and provide a guided tour when scheduled in advance. Please contact 352-395-5603.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took our 3 year old and he so enjoyed this he asks to go back to see the little monkeys. Plus they have a play area that the little ones can enjoy.

Thank Pcsuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for visiting the zoo! We also do birthday parties on Saturdays. For more details, contact us at 352-395-5603.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I went here a few years ago and they had two adult bald eagles and their nest nearly at arms reach, a 19 foot aligator, beautiful otters and old tortoises. This zoo is really unique with how close you can get up to the animals with peacocks running around freely in the parking lot of this college. Great place to visit. Took about an hour to walk through. Tickets were also very affordable.

2  Thank benmonkeyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Many Thanks for visiting and experiencing our facility. The students and staff take great pride in creating the habitats and viewing areas for everyone to enjoy. On your next visit, we can schedule an animal encounter, please call 352-395-5603 for more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing