We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of beautiful butterflies”

Butterfly Rainforest
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of beautiful butterflies”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It's a nice place but not on a raining day.Great for photography . So many butterflies they land on you all the time Beautiful waterfall. Peaceful and calm huge plants .Seating areas among the ferns

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurturinghearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    135
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Rainforest Fantasyland”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have taken our grandchild and our mothers and we all loved it! there are so many gorgeous plants and beautiful butterflies , especially the big blue ones. Stunning! We have a picture of our Grandson with a big butterfly perched on his arm and an even bigger smile on his face.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathyflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for family visit/outing”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wear white/light colored shirts...seems to attract butterflies to land on you (kids LOVE this!). Adjacent to museum of natural history (also a nice visit)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Djslater48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for Grandkids”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wonderful place to take grandkids and share nature with them.
If you've in Gainesville, FL-- don't miss

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Everyone of all ages will love this attraction. A rain forest has been recreated inside a canopy of screening with butterflies from all over the world. You can walk the trail through the forest that's home to a variety of vegetation and trees while watching the butterflies. Benches are positioned throughout for resting. I would suggest wearing bright colored tops, as the butterflies will actually land on you if you stand or sit for a short while. Great photo opportunities! The outside of the rain forest is also home to research and breeding of butterflies. Fascinating stuff!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly Rainforest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing