We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We recently stayed here and had a great room. our room had a king bed and a pull out sofa. it was modern, clean and nice. i would go here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelphotogFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 801 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2009

This is a great hotel in a perfect location. Many restaurants and nightlife in walking distance. The hotel is new, the room was large. The shower was very large by hotel standards. They have figured out most people don't use the hotel tub and there is just a shower but it uses the same space as if there was a tub. Not sure if all rooms are this way so if you have small kids that need a tub you might call first. Being in downtown there are many local restaurants near by that is a nice change from all the chains by I75. It is on the bus line so you could get to UF for a game without having to take a car. This will be our new go to hotel in Gainesville.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks so much for letting us know about your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate your feedback and we hope you'll stay with us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I am a federal gov. traveler who is stuck in Gainesville due to snow in the DC area. I can't get back tonight. I called the FedTraveler agency and asked for this hotel. They mistakenly booked me in the Holiday Inn. Eric at the front desk here called the Holiday Inn and straightened it out. Eric is great, and the rest of the staff are quite polite and sincere in their desire to serve guests. I am in room 624 and it is laid out nicely. Simple touches that matter. For instance the desk faces the TV. I can eat, drink and watch TV. It's like a clean man cave. There are a few other things about the layout that are very thoughtful. The hotel is a good value and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We have been anxiously anticipating the arrival of your wonderful hotel in the heart of Gainesville!!! Our first visit to stay with you was just after you opened in August. We were so impressed with the level of service that we received during that stay as well as during our stay there this past Thursday evening. Your staff goes out of their way to welcome you. It begins with the person who takes the reservation on the phone (Joanna) to the person who greets you at the front desk (also Joanna) to the woman who operates the breakfast (Marcie) to the cleaning and maintenance people we've encountered in the hallways or the elevators. It is obvious that your staff takes pride in Gainesville's newest "jewel". They seem happy to be a part of it!

We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE being able to park our car for the weekend and WALK to all of our favorite restaurants and bars. It's such a fabulous location!!!

We look forward to another visit VERY soon!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatorTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks so much for the awesome review on your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to dine at some of Downtown's best restaurants. We really appreciate the feedback and we look forward to seeing you many more times in the near future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I've stayed at a bunch of Gainesville hotels such as Springhill, Hilton Conference Center and the Holiday Inn. This is my favorite to date. Located in downtown Gainesville but close to the UF campus. Brand new, clean and roomy. Everything is new. There are a bunch of good restaurants and bars right outside the door and best of all it gets you away from the madness of the hotels, shops and restaurants of Archer Road.

If you like Hampton, and we do, this is one of the better Hampton Inns I've stayed at. Also, on game day they have a shuttle bus to bring you to campus so you don't need to drive. Go Gators

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusterBrewsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We're so happy to hear that we're your favorite hotel in Gainesville! Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

The Hampton downtown has several pluses. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. 42" TV's. decent complimentary breakfast and an interesting downtown neighborhood. Negatives would be paid parking next door and limited facilities. We booked a suite and found it to be extremely large (and we visited several others that were not as big). The room was 603 so I'm guessing the 03 stack has the large rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We value your feedback and we really appreciate your business Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank griselberberian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
680 reviews
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $116 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing