We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great location, excellent valet service (fast and friendly) with nice touches. They offer decent complimentary breakfast/coffee as well as snacks/wine in the lobby at various points. Lobby staff helped with a little wi-fi issue we were having (problem was with our computer, not their service). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for a great review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    183
    54
    26
    15
See reviews for
259
110
34
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have stayed several times at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Gainesville and absolutely love the ideal location. More importantly the hotel is extremely clean and the maids were friendly and helpful. The valet always had a smile and were polite (and fast).
I stayed at the hotel for my son's graduation at UF. The hotel was sold out but the staff was not overwhelmed by all hotel guests requests.
When I checked out I was overbilled and Joshua Farmer, the front Office Manager was more than accommodating and took care of everything and more.
Anyone staying in Gainesville or passing through will enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both the front and back of the hotel and never heard any outside noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We really appreciate the awesome review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We' happy to hear that you've stayed with us on multiple occasions. We really appreciate your business and we love having you here. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near UF and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is a nice bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are so happy to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I love this location! Hampton Inn is always a good stay, with breakfast included, and something for all diets to choose from. The hotel is clean, updated, and comfortable. I did not encounter a single issue at the hotel. Since driving around campus is very slow around the crowds of students, I love that they hotel is in walking distance to several excellent restaurants (Dragonfly, Harry's, Emiliano's, Uncorked Wine Bar, AND a Starbucks, plus many more). There is limited parking, so the hotel charges $12 for Valet per night, but well worth it b/c you can take in and out all day until 11 pm. There is a self parking garage, but it's more expensive, and the 2 hour parking surrounding the area is just that, 2 hour parking. The valet makes up for the convenience of walking everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoFranchisesAloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you love our location! We're glad to hear that you had a great experience while in the downtown area and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Asst. GM was so helpful to me and my family after a long and tiring trip to Gainesville, she made me feel right at home!! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in town. Clean, friendly staff, great restaurants nearby!!! A++

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dapo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks so much for the A++ review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're glad to hear that you'll only stay with us when you're in town. I'm so glad to hear that the staff was helpful and made you feel at home. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Have been staying here since my son started at the University. Very clean and appealing rooms. The staff is very friendly and extremely accommodating. The management staff was on top of solving some reservation issues. I love the breakfast and dining area that is included with your stay. Perfect location for walking to fun and hip restaurants in the downtown area. Great perk staying here..discounts to the downtown restaurants. Will continue staying here in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're happy to hear that your experience here has been a positive one. We look forward to many more visits from you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I went to this hotel 2 months ago because i had to be in gainesville for a wedding. As a European i have never been in an american student town but i have to say i liked it.
The hotel itself was nothing special but i have to say i did like it. The room i had was gigantic and clean. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. One thing i have as a comment is that everything was a little bit out dated. The location of the hotel is as central as you can be in gainesville.
I would defenately return to this hotel altough i don’t know if i will ever be back in gainesville.

Room Tip: All the rooms are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're glad to hear that you would definitely stay with us again. Our hotel is perfectly located in the downtown area, surrounded by many wonderful restaurants and bars. We look forward to another visit should your travels bring you back to the Gainesville area. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing