We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for parents of UF Students” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel for parents of UF Students”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Hotel very nice and clean. Restaurants near give discounts and are great. Close to anything you need and service great also. Breakfast and coffee in morning would please anyone. If not for business ask for room without long table.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    177
    53
    26
    15
See reviews for
244
106
32
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you're looking to be within a few steps of a number of great restaurants, right in the heart of Gainesville, then this is the hotel. As a matter of fact, it appears to be the only lodging in the immediate area. The hotel appears well maintained, and I found our room, a double queen, to be very clean and well appointed. The hotel features complimentary internet, wi-fi and wired, in the rooms, and it worked well. Of course, Hampton's feature a complimentary breakfast. The breakfast area is on the second floor of this six story facility. It was also well kept and well stocked during our 3 days there. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
My only hang up here was how much this property was per night. It is the most expensive Hampton I have ever stayed at anywhere. Other than location, I can't think of a reason why it's a high as it is. There were no special events in play during our stay, and the facility was far from sold out. In addition to the room rate, if you arrive by car, valet parking is highly encouraged, at an additional charge per night. There is a parking structure just a building away, and, because of my own laziness, I opted for the valet rather than determine how easy it would have been to be in and out of that public structure. Maybe next time I'll do a little more investigation of it before opting for the valet.
All that said, I guess it is about location. I would indeed consider staying here again for that reason. A decent walk, but walking distance nonetheless from the U of F campus, and, as noted, there are a ton of great restaurants surrounding the hotel. If you're willing to pay for it, then this is your spot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_5595_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. Our guests really enjoy our location and it's close proximity to many wonderful downtown restaurants and bars. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel is in downtown Gainesville walking distance from several restaurants. Rooms and public areas are noticeably clean and neat. Front desk staff were polite and welcoming. There was a wide variety of breakfast items, and the staff person in charge of breakfast made sure the guests were well taken care of.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thanks so much for posting a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again, real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Right in the middle of Downtown. Valet parking, comfortable beds. Staff very helpful. The suites in the back were huge for only slightly more and they are quieter as they do not face the street where the restaurants are

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Travellover321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks so much for the excellent review on your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope you'll stay with us again, the next time you're in the area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We recently celebrated a wedding in Gainesville, and since we were all coming from out of town, we blocked off quite a few rooms for the weekend. EVERY request we made was met with a smile and handled efficiently and courteously. Our guests had nothing but good things to say about this gem. The location is ideal -- a five minute drive to campus and walking distance to all the best restaurants and night spots. The rooms are comfortable, spotless, and beautifully appointed. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely stay here next time we visit Gainesville.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMiami2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you and your group had an excellent time during your stay. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope you'll visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn with a group of friends and had a great experience! The people checking us in were pleasant and easy to deal with, and they informed us of all of the amenities and the surrounding neighborhood. The room was spacious and well-suited to all of our needs, and some of the restaurants around give discounts to people staying in the hotel. Breakfast was good too, but the big standout was the customer service and the walking distance from restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate your feedback and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed on the top floor & it was very quiet. Clean rooms & comfortable beds. Free breakfast included,nothing special but make it yourself waffles were nice. Recommend getting to breakfast early as they were already running out of items when we arrived. Only downside is paying for parking.

Room Tip: Top floor (6th I believe) was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cm2894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks so much for writing a great review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're glad you enjoyed the waffle station! It's a guest favorite around here.Thanks again for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing