We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Business Stay in Gainesville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL, United States
1 review
“Best Business Stay in Gainesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the only hotel I now consider for business stay in Gainesville. My firm spends a lot of time recruiting at UF, so the location -- less than 2 miles from campus -- is ideal. (And no running into students at dinner/drinks!) The downtown area is safe, and provides entertainment and food. The hotel is clean and quiet, and the staff make the visit a breeze. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks so much for the excellent review on your recent stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you'll only stay with us when your business brings you to the Gainesville area. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    170
    49
    24
    14
See reviews for
235
101
30
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. It is impeccably maintained and staffed with great people. We stay at this hotel several times per year, during football season, and couldn't be happier. The hotel is situated downtown, very close to quaint shops, several lovely restaurants and an array of bars that would fit anybody's taste.

We are recurring guests, and as such, have gotten to know many of the staff members. They couldn't be any nicer and couldn't go more out of their way to make sure your stay is a great one. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. Exemplary from top to bottom.

A few things to note (just in reviewing reviewers comments): (1) The location is right in the middle of downtown Gainesville. As with many downtown areas, there can be some "unsavory types" that tend to wander the streets from time to time. This has nothing to do with the hotel and I believe the hotel does all they can do to insure guests (and their guests, alike) are the only ones with access to the hotel - especially at night. In the evenings, the streets are alive with locals, college students and visitors, alike. I have never felt unsafe coming to/from the bars and restaurants - even late into the night.

(2) The pool is small - the location is very limited. I would describe it as more of a "relaxing" pool, by no means large and/or entertaining for small children.

(3) There is not an onsite bar/restaurant, but (a) the complimentary breakfast spread is always good and (b) there are more restaurants and bars within walking distance than one can imagine.

(4) Parking is next door in the garage. If you pull up to the front of the hotel - you will be assisted with parking (at least during "game weekends" - the hotel offers valet parking), including instructions.

Kudos to the staff. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We usually a book a corner suite - HUGE and very, very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to post a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate our devoted Gator fans. Football weekends would not be the same without you! We LOVE having you here and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

room was very small, clean but small and the price was crazy expensive for the services offered. will not stay at this location ever again. there was no restaurant or bar. I should have done more research before making the reservation. I blame myself for paying to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We actually have a restaurant in the hotel, and they offer room service. I'm sorry that this information wasn't relayed to you. There are also numerous restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a very pleasant weekend stay for a HS reunion. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet, and when I forgot an item after departure they were very helpful in returning it to me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your High School Reunion! I'm glad we were able to assist you in getting your personal belongings back to you in a timely manner. We hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in the Gainesville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Considering the wonderful review I wrote last month about my visit to the Hampton Inn Baltimore Airport, even I myself am surprised by how aweful my stay was at this particular location. This trip was a church trip set up to accomodate a bus load of people from Orlando. Unfortunately I joined the group later as I had to attend a funeral that was three hours away. I arrived at the hotel late that afternoon and the first thing I noticed was the parking situation. It was really confusing and practically non existent around the hotel. After driving around the block I discovered a parking garage on the backside of the hotel. When I pressed the buzzer for the hotel to be let in, no one answered. I called the front desk from my cellphone and was instructed to take a parking ticket to be handed in to the front desk.

I was traveling with a seven year old and from the parking garage had to walk down a narrow alley to the main street to get to the front of the hotel. I think this is important for people to know this as there was a homeless man sleeping on the sidewalk just at the end of the alley as we entered on to the main street in front of the hotel. I was concerned for my safety each time my child and I entered and exited the garage.

Upon check in I gave my parking ticket to the front desk and explained that I was with the large church group. I was given a room key for the 6th floor. There was a long wait at the elevators as there was only two and the the church group was pretty large. One person took the stairs to the 5th floor and I myself with my child waited in line only to get to my room to discover that my key did not work as did the person who took five flights of stairs!!!

At other Hampton Inns were greeted professionaly and given a complementary gift bag upon arrival. When I asked for a gift bag I was quickly told that they were for "rewards members" only....

When we left for dinner later that evening the key did not work when we were exiting the parking garage. And when we re-entered we had to pull another ticket. This was given to the front desk upon our return; and yet again my room key did not work and had ot be reset. I left out again later that evening and also gave my parking ticket to the front desk. The following day just before checkout I received a call from the front desk telling me I owed $6 for parking that was not covered in the monies that had been paid by the church group.

By this time I was really disgusted considering I had been to the front desk five times in less than a 12 hour period. Three times to give them parking tickets and twice to get my room iey reset. No one ever explained anything to me about the parking situation. During check out asked if there was complimentary water available at the front desk, I was told no and charged $2. This hotel was not service oriented at all, although the manager did end up dismissing the $6 parking charge.

My biggest complaint with this hotel is the lack of organizaiton with the front desk. They made my stay extremely STRESSFUL and I could not wait for my visit to be over. On a positive note, the location is in the middle of a lot of restaurants and bars. The room was clean and adequate and the staff in the dining area was pleasant. Again I would not recommend for a family traveling with small children. The parking situation at times did not feel safe. I was a woman traveling with my seven year old and had to walk past a homeless person, down an alley, and up a stairwell to get to my car; not to mention all the drama with entering and exiting the parking garage.

Lastly I would not recommend this hotel for a large group. There was not enough elevators. A number of room keys did not work,the staff at the front desk were not friendly or organized, not to mention they appeared to lack basic knowledge about their own hotel. I travel alot and this is by far one of the worst experiences I've had. If it were just myself, perhaps I could be a little more forgiving...but I was traveling with my child. I dont have enough words to express my disgust with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al4luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We love having you here and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was my second business trip to Gainesville, and I had such a great experience the first time that I didn't bother looking elsewhere. The hotel is very conveniently located near a list of great restaurants and bars. The room I had was clean and very comfortable. It had a nice desk for business travel with plenty of outlets. Couldn't beat the end of the work day happy hour in the lobby; the beer was ice cold.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtdman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that we are your only choice of hotels in the Gainesville area. We love having you here and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Visited Gainesville FL for a business event and found the Hampton Down Town to be perfect as my event was down town did not use my car walked to event, dinner and theater. Hotel was clean safe and value as adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We love having you here and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing