We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I were visiting family outside of Gainesville and were happy to stay in this Hampton Inn as it is the farthest East in town and saved us about 15 minutes each time we went to see our family. The breakfast each morning was nice and the gym facility, while small - was well equipped and everything was in working order.

You can't ask more of the location - right around some of the restaurants and pubs in the area. Housekeeping was great and cleaned around our schedule. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DediB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We appreciate you taking time to post a review. We hope you had an enjoyable visit with your family and we hope to see you again real soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 771 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Other than the parking garage being a half block away - and it was pouring rain when I arrived and departed - this hotel can boast friendly helpful service and very nice accommodations. It is right downtown and easy walking distance to very nice restaurants (across the street and within the hotel block). This is my preferred hotel in Gainesville.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTPMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent visit. I'm sorry that the weather was not accommodating during your stay. We do have a golf cart that we use to transport guests to and from the garage. Just let us know next time and our staff will be happy to assist you.

Thanks again for the review and we're delighted that we are your preferred hotel when visiting Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Perfect for an overnight in downtown Gainesville. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and breakfast good. Saltwater pool is an interesting option. Do note the parking garage is next door which can be a little odd late at night, but seemed safe. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TampaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

We really appreciate you taking time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I just wanted to let you know that we do offer transportation to and from the garage should you need it. Just let the front desk know next time and they can make these arrangements for you. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to the Gainesville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was staying at this hotel for business, and there were times I felt I was on vacation! Everyone at the hotel (from the desk staff to the housekeeping staff to the engineering staff) was incredibly friendly, always smiling and happy to help out in whatever way possible.
We were a large group and the arrivals and departures were constantly changing; every change was accommodated without a hassle or problem AND our final billing was correct.
The rooms were very clean and modern (and I'm a bit of a clean freak), and the beds were super comfortable with plenty of pillows.
The breakfast was fresh and well maintained - there was always a hostess on site and they were always aware of the status of the assorted items (stocking/replacing as necessary).
The hotel is located in the heart of downtown, well within walking distance of quite a few fantastic restaurants & lounges - we didn't have to drive a car other than to get to/from work each day. The hotel staff will be happy to recommend their favorite places, we weren't disappointed by any of the places they suggested.
If you're lucky enough to be there on a Wednesday evening, you might stumble upon the weekly farmers market across the street - you will find the most delicious looking produce, colorful flowers, home made goodies (both edible and not) and ready to eat food.
I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel and the entire staff; one word can sum it up - AMAZING!

Room Tip: If you can spend a few extra bucks for a suite, they're fabulous - with a small fridge & wet...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for the AMAZING review. We're delighted that you had such a wonderful time you felt as if you were on vacation. We believe in providing customer service that goes above and beyond. I'm glad that our staff was able to direct you to some of the wonderful restaurants in the downtown area. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed Memorial Day weekend in a queens' suite (2 queens + pullout couch). VERY spacious and very quiet even though we faced onto the restaurants and bars across the street in the historic buildings.

Convenient to all the restaurants and bars downtown, and only a 2-3 minute drive back over to campus (you could easily walk the 13 blocks if you have good shoes -- head west taking south 1st street vs. university for less traffic). Already recommended this hotel to a couple we know heading there in the coming weeks and this will be the only place we stay in town (we drove past some of the B&B's we'd considered and are happy we chose HI&S instead).

Pool is no longer salt water and is only some 7' x 20'...10 people around the pool would feel like a mob. Kids will love the jets in the water, though.

Parking was $6/day with in-out privileges. Suggest drop off/pick-up your bags at the front of the hotel otherwise it's about a 200 yard walk in total.

As to some of the 'service' issues raised on this board, I respect other's comments and appreciate them. Seriously. For my part I didn't experience any let-downs...but maybe it's just that I accept the fact that this is a HI&S in a college town, staffed by college kids/grad students for the most part. My experience was that they seem to be learning and genuinely trying to give their best.

Room Tip: We stayed in a southeast corner suite overlooking Dragonfly and ??? Music Store reaturants and heard...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thanks so much for writing a review on your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for recommending us to your friends. We really appreciate it. We look forward to your next visit! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Hampton Inn on a trip to Florida. Our daughter recommended it based on Tripadvisor recommendations. we certainly were not disappointed. The room was absolutely perfect, comfortable, and inviting. If we had any complaints at all, the bed could have been a little softer, but not everyone likes a soft bed. The hotel is also convenient to mini fine dining establishments. We will certainly use this hotel again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you were not disappointed. Our mission is to provide the best guest experience possible. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a graduation ceremony. There were a total of 8 of us in four guest rooms. It was very nice to be in the downtown area and be able to walk to restaurants and pubs. On Friday night, there was a free live concert in the square across from the hotel, which was fun to listen to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank nanciface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thanks so much for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your time here over graduation weekend. I'm glad you were able to take in the Free Friday concert series. It's great to have this event just outside our front doors.
We appreciate your business and hope you'll stay with us again, the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#9 of 46 in Gainesville
657 reviews
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $136 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing