We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here whilst travelling through Florida on business
Thought the hotel was so good we rescheduled to stay at other Hampton Inns for the rest of the trip
Will probably enrol on the Hilton scheme for regular users to make sure we stop in these on our travels

Room Tip: Book in advance to avoid having to stop at an alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We're so happy that you decided to join the Hilton Honors program. I know you'll enjoy all the great benefits of being a member of this program. We appreciate your business and hope you choose us again the next time your travels bring you to Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 817 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I prefer not to stay in chain hotels, but Gainesville had few options. The hotel is in the middle of the downtown area, charmingly restored, with some outstanding restaurants a stone's throw away. We opted for a suite, which was not two rooms but simply a large room with a desk and a sofa. It was perfectly comfortable. The shower had fine water pressure, lots of hot water, and good towels. I found out within minutes of arriving and starting to unpack that I had left my Mac charger at home and desperately needed one to work during my stay. The young people staffing the desk were outstanding in helping me find a store with Mac stuff (thank you, Best Buy!) and giving us directions. They even called the store to see if a charger was in stock. (It was.) It was simply outstanding service, for which I was very grateful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for the great review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to do this. I'm so glad that you decided to choose the Hampton Brand. I'm pleased that the staff was able to assist you with getting a replacement charger for your Mac. We hope you will join the Hilton Honors program and enjoy all the benefits that come with being members. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you next time you're in the Gainesville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The traditional Hampton Inn consistent quality and friendly service in a downtown location. Located in the restored downtown of Gainesville, a pleasant place to stroll in the evening with lots of good eating close at hand. Parking, while in a garage adjacent to the hotel, is secure and well patrolled at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTravel400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stop over in Gainesville. I'm so glad you were able to check out our wonderful downtown and the great restaurants that we have here. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. Thanks again, and we hope to see you real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Many of us who came to Gainesville for a wedding stayed there. The location was great - within easy walking distance of restaurants, bars, and a playground for the little ones. The staff was outstanding - very friendly and helpful. The king and queen suites were spacious with microwaves and refrigerators which were convenient for our 5 day stay and for those with children. The breakfast area was helpful, eliminating need to get everyone together to go out of the building. The parking garage is not accessible from the hotel but is not far away. Three small things in the room would have made me happy-better hair dryers, a way to see the back of one's head, and light switch inside the bathroom . In short, I would recommend staying there.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mary Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Mary Anne,
Thanks so much for the wonderful review on our hotel. I'm so glad that our location worked out for you and your family. Sounds like it was a successful weekend! Thanks so much for the suggestions you made. We really appreciate your input.
Thanks again, and thanks for choosing Hampton! We love having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

For my visit to Gainesville, I was looking for a Hilton brand hotel and a great location. After checking TripAdvisor I found the Hampton Inn & Suites was the place to stay instead at the Hilton, which had horrible reviews. This hotel was exactly what we needed, a comfortable place to stay in the heart of downtown Gainesville.

The staff was a little slow at check-in and gave us the impression they did not have a room for us. Eventually we were able to check in and got up to our room. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was comfortable.

The location is why would you really want to stay here. You are within walking distance to everything you could possibly want. Restaurants, bars, shopping, Starbucks, etc. are all within blocks. If you are looking for a comfortable, affordable stay in Gainesville, this should be your top pick.

Room Tip: The elevator is extremely slow. Stay on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank technogal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Sounds like you had a wonderful time. So glad you were able to get out and enjoy some of the best restaurants Gainesville has to offer. We really do appreciate your business and we hope you will visit us again real soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this hotel, 100% on location relative a special event I was attending. It's located in the heart of downtown with many restaurants, clubs and even a Starbucks just steps away. Upon entry to the lobby though, I almost turned and left in search of another property. There is a strong odor in the lobby reminicent of the type of bleach based cleaner used in nursing homes. It's overwhelming and truly sets an image that you are checking into a fleabag property. Once upstairs though, the room was nice and overall I had a good stay, Breakfast was good as well.

A couple of added notes of concern. Parking is in an adjacent parking garage and the connection between the garage and the hotel includes dark alley ways which may be of a concern if traveling alone. Added to this is that there is a public park across the street that serves as the home for 50 to 100 homeless people. It's an issue that really puts a blight on an otherwise terrific location.

Mixed blessing overall...great location in the heart of a wonderfully vibrant small-town downtown. I'd probably stay again based on limited options in this price point and its location away from the Interstate where most of the hotels are clustered.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the unpleasant smell you encountered at check in. Our executive team is working to resolve this issue. Please know that this is not a common occurrence. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful experience when they stay with us and we take great pride in the appearance of the hotel. Thanks again for letting us know about your experience and we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent a Saturday night there. The room and bedding were very clean. The room itself was large with a nice sized desk. Breakfast had a little bit of everything, from waffles, eggs to fruit and cereal. The location was excellent, went to Harry's across the street for lunch. It was downtown Gainesville night. They do it once a month, live music in the streets etc. Do check in first if you are going to use the parking discount. Had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: I was on the fourth floor. Very quite while being in the middle of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks so much for taking time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and that you were able to check out Harry's Restaurant. Harry's is a must when dining downtown. Thanks again and we hope to see you the next time you're in the Gainesville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $150 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelPower, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing