We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the new Hampton Inn and Suites in downtown Gainesville. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed during a football game last year, and had a great time. The staff had wonderful suggestions, and offered complimentary rides to mid-town. Not having to worry about transportation to and from the game was such a relief. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The breakfast in the morning was good, got us ready for a long day. We will definitely be staying here again for future Gator games. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review on our hotel. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the game day transportation. You know, Gator football season is just around the corner. Have you made your reservations yet? We hope you will be able to make it to Gainesville for some of the Gator games this year.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 770 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is the best hotel I've had the pleasure of staying at in Gainesville. The staff is friendly and courteous. The hotel is in a wonderful location near many eateries. I would definitely stay there on my next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roderick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post a great review of our hotel. We really appreciate it and we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at this beautifully appointed Hampton Inn. There is no doubt that someone took great pride designing this hotel's interior. The only way I can describe it is simply elegant, comfortable and worth every penny. A great place to be if you are a Gator fan! The entire staff was friendly. They greeted us wholeheartedly each time we walked into the lobby. I imagine they get their down home kindness fom their manager. Miss Shelia was so sweet and gave me good information about area restaurants.

The room was very comfortable and we slept soundly!

The downtown area was bustling and we thoroughly enjoyed strolling around after our dinner.

We had to pay for parking but it was great being able to park so close to the hotel.

We look forward to future stays when I visit my daughter. Gooooooo Gators.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thanks so much for the outstanding review regarding your recent stay with us. I'm so glad you had a pleasant experience and that you were able to get out and enjoy our vibrant downtown area.It was a pleasure to assist you with your restaurant choices. You can't really miss with any of the local restaurants here. They all serve excellent food.
Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gainesville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our family of four stayed for one night in a double queen room while visiting Gainesville for a UF campus tour. The hotel and our room were exceptionally clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The beds and pillows were VERY comfortable; the bathroom was bright and roomy with a spacious vanity which was perfect for our two teenage daughters and all of their toiletries; good water pressure in the shower; the closet door doubled as an enormous full-length mirror (nice bonus); the room had high, visible electrical outlets which made charging our laptops and phones a breeze - no need to hunt under the desk or behind the nightstand. Free Wi-Fi and the large flat screen TV were also nice. Our room was located on the second floor, conveniently right down the hall from the hotel's free continental breakfast area, and the hotel itself is within short walking distance to several restaurants. Overall, it was a great stay for an affordable price. We will definitely choose this hotel on our next visit to Gainesville.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are conveniently located down the hall from the fitness center and the bre...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlmagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you and your family had a great time during your visit to the UF campus. We hope to see you more frequently over the next four years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel while visiting University of Florida (GO GATORS) with our son. The location is excellent. Being able to walk to a variety of restaurants and shops is great. The hotel is safe and secure. We found the room and the rest of the hotel to be extremely clean. The breakfast was very good offering some healthy options. We have stayed at other locations in the area and this is by far the best for service and location. We will always choose this hotel when visiting Gainesville.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmpianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We're glad that you were able to experience all of the wonderful downtown restaurants and local businesses that are just steps from our hotel. We love being in the heart of Gainesville and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to town. Go Gators!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel's primary positive attribute is also it's most negative.

It is located right across the street from the County Courthouse. Initially I was a little concerned because there are most definitely some roaming characters. I would not want to walk the surroundings blocks alone at night. The people I saw do not appear violent just in need of social services. The County Probation department is right around the corner. Some live in the park (right across from the Hotel entrance) or "seem to" based on their long duration there over the course of my weekend. Between Friday and Sunday, I saw one man being led away by the Police, one smoking a joint, and another urinating between the buildings next to the parking garage.

On the positive side, this hotel is within steps to many nice restaurants, a Starbucks, frozen yogurt/gelato stores, and a performing arts theatre. I would not discount the property entirely but this is an obvious and glaring flaw of this neighborhood. During the daytime hours there is lots of foot traffic, but at night I might be leery and cautious of wandering off the grid.

The hotel has a small but adequate fitness center, the usual Hampton breakfast, and offers free beer and wine carafes for an "impromptu" happy hour. It is neat and clean. The regular /standard rooms do not offer a refrigerator. Parking is in the garage around the block. They charge "guest" $5/night for something they should really pay for.

For $116/night, no super great value, it's a nice Hampton putting the neighborhood aside. Would I stay again? Yes, but knowing the area, I would probably try a gazillion other spots.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Newman019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you so much for visiting our downtown property recently. We are very fortunate not only to have Starbucks on the block but to be surrounded by Gainesville’s finest restaurants opened by locals who choose to bring their culinary delights to the downtown area that our guests enjoy nightly. The rebirth of the downtown area has brought a effervescent experience to Gainesville both for business and pleasure. Because we are downtown we are also within steps of many government offices as well as highly respected law firms due to our proximity to both courthouses. Like many downtown areas, we do have a those less fortunate however we have found downtown to be a safe environment for not only our guests but for the many residents who frequent this area for everything this historic district has to offer to foodies and art lovers alike. To ensure that our guests have the best possible experience, we do work in close partnership with other downtown businesses and law enforcement to ensure that safety is the top priority.

As with most downtown locations, guests are charged a nominal fee for parking in the downtown garage. We do not own the garage and this is not a hotel charge, it is a parking charge. In partnership with the garage owner, our guests are offered a discounted rate. For convenience we do include that fee on guest room folios rather than asking guests to pay the garage owner every time they exit. However, we have found most guests use their cars very little once they get here due to the proximity of everything downtown.

Thank you again for visiting and we do hope to see you in Downtown Gainesville for the city’s best hotel with the most vibrant surroundings and extraordinary service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is centrally located to many restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were smaller than normal but the beds are very, very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and breakfast was acceptable. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the side street and we did not hear any street noise at all.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_kercher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the shout out on how comfortable our Hampton beds are. We love them too! Thanks again, and we hope you will visit us the next time your travels bring you to Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#9 of 46 in Gainesville
657 reviews
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $135 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing