We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best USA hotel in 5 weeks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Velp, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best USA hotel in 5 weeks”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We've seen a lot of hotels in our 5 weeks in the USA but this was the best one. Excellent, friendly and helpful staff (esp. Dustin) / great clean rooms / a wonderful spa and a convenient downtown parking space / awesome spa/pool. Great restaurants and bars around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootsman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a great review of our hotel. We really appreciate it and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    190
    57
    28
    16
See reviews for
272
113
35
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We have had the pleasure to stay at this Hampton 5 times within the last year and I hate to say this because I will probably have trouble booking rooms now…but I love this place! EVERYONE is so nice …rooms are clean, bathrooms clean, decor is well done, GREAT location, with drinks and dinner options steps away, parking garage just round the corner…it is our Gainesville home away from home. With one Gator in school and one more on the way there…we plan on making DOWNTOWN Hampton our home base.
THANKS Hampton…we will be back GO GATORS

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELSIEB-GOT2BGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a great review about your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you will keep coming back. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Was attending UF Freshman Preview and selected the downtown location instead of the highway exit location which I've stayed at before and did not love (being kind). The downtown Hampton Inn feels and looks like a brand new hotel. The neighborhood is vibrant with energy flowing from all the bars and restaurants and parks that line the street. Front desk service was excellent at check in and every time I had to stop there over the 2 days I was there. Breakfast was first rate if you stay away from the gross eggs that every Hampton seems to serve (there must be one giant batch that they just keep serving day after day in all the Hampton's, I don't know--I never see anybody eat them) and stick with the fresh waffles and bacon. Room was perfect, clean, comfortable, nicely appointed well-stocked, quiet and everything worked. What more could anybody want for a reasonable price. It's not the cheapest room in town but it's top quality for a very fair price.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aintlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. We love having you here and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We made a pit stop here driving from Cincinnati to Disney when we could not stand to drive any longer. We arrived at 9 pm and worried about parking in a downtown setting. Luckily, there was a parking garage next door (5 dollars), which made it very easy. The hotel was great, and check in was a breeze. We didn't explore much, but the room was well decorated and clean (except for a few hairs I found under the sheets). We left early the next morning, but found that Gainesville is georgeous and the University of Florida is just minutes away. We stopped there to check out the field and campus. Overall, a great stop!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkmingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks so much for the excellent review of our property. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed in a suite with our two young boys. The hotel was nicely done, and the rooms were large, clean and decorated nicely. We had three windows overlooking downtown. We could walk to numerous restaurants and bars in the evening. We had a fabulous meal with our kids at Emiliano's down the street. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. The breakfast had all we needed and was a big hit with the kids. We will absolutely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

For those that like downtown atmosphere, this is the place for you. The hotel itself was situated in the middle of all things downtown. The rooms were nicely sized and very clean. The beds were a little stiff for my taste but to each his own in that regard. The breakfast in the morning was typical hotel buffet faire. The pool is really not a pool but an oversized hot tub with jets and all. Not really a sunbathing type of pool deck.

All in all, a nice place to stay with lots of downtown atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Gainesville! There are some great restaurants and shops within steps of the front door and the hippodrome theater is right next door (we saw two productions by the kids theater camp that were great!). All of this and just a few blocks away from campus. Only negative were the eggs at breakfast but I have never seen those done well buffet style. Now if only I can get a room here come football season!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick4184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for posting such a great review of our property. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you many more times in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
570 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing